Maryland Resources

Court of Appeals

Databases

• MD Court of Appeals of Maryland from 1658 on Lexis (1658 - ): Includes official and parallel citations from 1A. from 1885); 1H. & J. (1800 - ); 1H. & McH. (1770 - ).
• Maryland State Cases, Combined on Lexis: Contains all published decisions from the Court of Appeals since 1770 (1H. & McH.), from the Court of Special Appeals since February 1967 and from the Tax Court since January 1979. Selected unpublished decisions from 1967 for Court of Appeals and from 1982 for Court of Special Appeals.
• Maryland Court of Appeals Cases on Westlaw (1787 - ).
• Maryland Cases on Westlaw: Covering cases from Provincial Court, Proprietary Province of Maryland (1714 - 1774), General Court (1781 - 1805), Court of Appeals (1787 - ), Court of Special Appeals (1967 - ), Tax Court (1960 - ).
• Court of Appeals of Maryland on Bloomberg Law (1658 - ).

State Website

• Maryland Appellate Court: The database includes reported opinions, in pdf format, from the Court of Appeals and the Court of Special Appeals from 1995 to date. There are two ways of accessing the opinions you need. You can do a full-text keyword search. Opinions can also be listed by case docket number/term, by official case citation, by appellant's (or first party's) name, by date opinion is filled by court, or by judge. You can choose one particular year or all years. Reported opinions are posted on the web site on the day they are filed.

Print Reports

Maryland Reports: Cases Adjudged in the Court of Appeals for Maryland (Md.)

• Maryland Reports (Md.) on Caselaw Access Project (1851-2017)
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1945 .A2 (1948 - ), currently updated at Law Library.
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1245 .A2 (1851 - 1947).

Maryland Advance Reports

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1245 .A3, currently updated at Law Library: Published weekly, except last week of September and first week of October.

West's Atlantic Reporter. Third Series (A.3d)

Includes opinions from Maryland Court of Appeals only.

• West's Atlantic Reporter, Third Series (A.3d) on Caselaw Access Project (2004-2019)
• Law Library Call Number: Closed Stacks South KF135 .A712 (2010 - ), last updated in 2012 at Law Library. Ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.

Atlantic Reporter. Second Series (A.2d)

Includes opinions from Maryland Court of Appeals only.

• West's Atlantic Reporter, Second Series (A.2d) on Caselaw Access Project (1942-2010)
• Law Library Call Number: Closed Stacks South KF135 .A712 (v. 1, 1938 - v. 999, 2010).

Atlantic Reporter. First Series (A.)

Includes opinions from Maryland Court of Appeals only.

• Atlantic Reporter. First Series (A.) on LLMC Digital (v.1, 1885– v.129, 1925).
• In print: Law Library Call Number: Closed Stacks South KF135 .A7 (v.1, 1885 - v.200, 1938).

Special Appeals

Databases

• MD Court of Special Appeals of Maryland from 1967 on Lexis (Feb. 1967, 1 Md. App. - ).
• Maryland Court of Special Appeals Cases on Westlaw (1967 - ).
• Court of Special Appeals on Bloomberg Law (1966 - ).

Print Reports

Maryland Appellate Reports, Cases Adjudged in the Court of Special Appeals in Maryland (Md. App.)

• Maryland Appellate Reports (Md. App.) on Caselaw Access Project (1967-2017)
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st floor KFM1248 .A2 (v.1 1967 - ), currently updated at Law Library.

Tax Court

• Maryland Tax Court Cases on Westlaw (1960 - )
• Tax Court on Bloomberg Law 

Court Opinions Finding Aids in Print

• Maryland Digest 2d: Covering Cases from State and Federal Courts, Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1257 .M3 1993, v.1 - v. 49, current volumes only.  It is not necessary to consult the Digest's first series because this series covers all published Maryland cases from 1658 on.
• West's Atlantic Digest 2d., at Library of Congress: Summarizes cases from Maryland state courts, but not from the Federal District Court for the District of Maryland. To find cases earlier than 1968 you must search the first series, Atlantic Reporter Digest.

Other Resources

Databases

• Maryland Historical Reports including colonial period on HeinOnline: Including Maryland Preliminary Reports (1658 - 1854), historical case opinions from General Court, High Court of Chancery and Court of Appeals, and Maryland Reports.
• Maryland Historical Reports including colonial period on LLMC Digital: Including historical case opinions from General Court, High Court of Chancery and Court of Appeals, Maryland Report digests, and miscellaneous records.
• High Court of Chancery on Bloomberg Law (1792 - 1852)

Websites

• Amicus Curiarum (v.20, 2003 - ). A monthly publication of the Administrative Office of the Courts that provides abstracted highlights of selected appellate options.
• Caselaw Access Project: Historical Maryland Reports.
• Archives of Maryland Online (1637 - 1854). Including historical court reporting of the Provincial Court, Court of Chancery and Court of Appeals and miscellaneous court records.

Maryland Unreported Decisions by Maryland Courts, coverage from May 2015 (Md. Ct.s). Under Maryland Rules 1-104, unpublished opinions are not precedent and also not persuasive authority; therefore, you should not cite them in documents submitted to Maryland courts.

As noted in Pamela Gregory, Legal Research in the District of Columbia, Maryland and Virginia (2000), Call Number: Reference Desk KF240 .C43 2000):

"Opinions of the circuit courts seldom are ever published, as they are nisi prius opinions. Occasionally an opinion will be of such general interest or uniqueness that the Daily Record will publish it, but those instances are rare." (p. 2-60).

Daily Record (Daily Rec.)

A daily newspaper containing legal announcements, court calendar, opinions of the Attorney General, and synopses of important court decisions.

Databases

• Daily Rec. on Lexis (3/7/1995 - )
• Daily Rec. on Westlaw (12/2009 - )
• Daily Rec. on Ebscohost & Nexis Uni (coverage varies)

Website

• TheDailyRecord.com

Microformat

• Law Library Call Number: Media 1st Floor microform NEWSPAPER Micro Film Row C, Cabinet 18 (1888 - 2011), last updated in 2011 at Law Library.

Circuit Court Dockets

• Maryland District Court and Circuit Courts Case Search (Md. Jud.)

Maryland Judiciary Case Search (Md. Judiciary). Provides basic docket information (filing date, party names, attorney names, and case status) for all Maryland circuit and district courts except those of Prince George's and Montgomery Counties. Dates of coverage vary by court. The Maryland Judiciary Case Search is a free service searchable by participant (party, attorney) name and docket number.

In microformat: Records and briefs of the Maryland Court of Appeals and Maryland Court of Special Appeals: Law Library Call Number: Media 1st Floor MCS 7 Micro. Court of Appeals coverage: 1980 - 2004; Court of Special Appeals coverage: 1979 - 2003.

• Maryland Research Guide: Case Records and Briefs (U. Md. L. Library)
• Case Search - Frequently Asked Questions (Md. Cts.)
• Access to Court Records (Md. Cts.)

Further Readings

• Maryland Legal History: Leading Cases and Controversies. An on-line collection of papers and documents discussing Maryland landmark cases. Curated by U. Md. L. School to advance the study of legal history and process.