Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Supreme Court Nominations Research Guide

This guide explains the nomination process and suggests resources for further research into the nominations of more recently confirmed Supreme Court Justices.

Research Guides & Resources

  • Christine L.Nemacheck, Strategic Selection Presidential Nomination of Supreme Court Justices from Herbert Hoover through George W. Bush [KF8742 .N46 2007] examines patterns and trends in the selection of Supreme Court Justices.

  • Supreme Court Nominations (United States Senate) provides a chart listing all Supreme Court Nominations, which includes justice replaced, date nominated, vote, and nominating President.

  • The April 2005 issue of eJournal USA (U.S. Department of State) is devoted to the Supreme Court of the United States and includes essays by Chief Justice Rehnquist as well as legal scholars about how the Supreme Court commands the respect of Americans and plays a vital role in the constitutional system. One of the articles, "I Do Solemnly Swear" by Robert S. Barker, offers "a historical perspective on the nomination, confirmation, and appointment of justices to the U.S. Supreme Court."

  • The Supreme Court Historical Society provides a history of the court as well as a research guide on how to research the court.

  • David G. Savage, Guide to the U.S. Supreme Court (5th ed. 2010) (KF8742 .W567 2010)

  • About the Supreme Court (Supreme Court of the United States)
    Provides biographical information about the justices, brief overview of this history and jurisdiction of the Court. It includes a handy "Member of the Supreme Court of the United States" chart listing the following information by justice: name, state appointed from, appointed by President, judicial oath taken and date service terminated.

  • The Supreme Court and the Federal Judiciary (Steven C. Caldwell ed., 2002) [KF8776 .S86 2002] covers nominations not confirmed, the appointment process, qualifications, and recess appointments.

  • The Secondary Sources section of our U.S. Supreme Court Research guide includes more useful books, databases and journal indexes.