International Anti-Corruption Law Research Guide

Below is a collection of resources related to narrower subtopics of corruption.

Government Transparency

• Council of Europe: Group of States against Corruption (GRECO)

  Since its formation in 1999, the Council of Europe’s Group of States against Corruption “objective is to improve the capacity of its members to fight corruption by monitoring their compliance with Council of Europe anti-corruption standards through a dynamic process of mutual evaluation and peer pressure. It helps to identify deficiencies in national anti-corruption policies, prompting the necessary legislative, institutional and practical reforms. GRECO also provides a platform for the sharing of best practice in the prevention and detection of corruption.” Its website includes the evaluations and additional materials.

• European Commission: Transparency
  The European Commission’s  European Transparency Initiative provides feedback and structure for the debate on lobbying activities in the E.U.

• How to Improve Governance: A New Framework for Analysis and Action
  Available in print and online, this book presents a global view of corruption in government along with possible solutions. It also discusses this issue specifically in Ghana, Peru, Mexico and Thailand.
   
• Managing Conflict of Interest in the Public Service: OECD Guidelines and Overview
  Available in print and online, this book reviews the regulation of conflicts of interests in the public service sector, highlighting Australia, France, Germany, New Zealand, Poland, Portugal and the United States.
   
• The Right to Know: Transparency for an Open World
  Available in print and online, this book discusses changes in transparency laws from Asia, Africa, Europe, and Latin America, with information on how countries have improved their laws and where there is still a need for improvement.

Money Laundering

• Council of Europe: Committee of Experts on the Evaluation of Anti-Money Laundering Measures (MONEYVAL)
  The Mutual Evaluations provide information on the efforts to combat money laundering made in particular countries.
   
• Financial Action Task Force (FATF)
  FATF is an intergovernmental body with over 30 member countries. The Publications page includes reports on money laundering and related issues. Also includes FAQ pages on money laundering and mutual evaluations.
   
• International Money Laundering Information Network (IMoLIN)
  According to its website, “IMoLIN is an Internet-based network assisting governments, organizations and individuals in the fight against illicit financial flows, money laundering and the financing of terrorism.” Its AMLID database includes the texts of key legislation and regulations related to money laundering on a per-country basis, sometimes in English translation. IMoLIN’s International Norms and Standards page includes U.N. instruments and model laws on money laundering, and the Reference page includes citations and full-text links to books, articles, and similar materials which discuss various aspects of money laundering laws.
   
• U.N. Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
  UNODC’s website includes a section on Money-laundering and Countering the Financing of Terrorism. This section has brief summaries of the current situation of money-laundering and links to various resources on money laundering, including the Model Provision on Money Laundering, Terrorist Financing. Preventive Measures and Proceeds of Crime.

Organized Crime

• European Consortium on Political Research: Standing Group on Organised Crime
  Established in 2001 to facilitate “multidisciplinary, cross-country, academic-practitioner discussions and analyses” of topics related to organized crime.
   
• Strategic Hub for Organised Crime Research (SHOC) 
  Part of the Royal United Services Institute (RUSI), SHOC’s website says that it “aims to bring together academics, practitioners, and policymakers to create a collaborative network of experts, working to improve understanding of and responses to serious and organised crime.” Includes a blog that discusses developments in organized crime research.
   
• U.N. Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC)
  UNODC’s website includes a page on Organized Crime Assessments with information on organized crime in Central Asia and West Africa.
   
• Transnational Organized Crime: Summary of a Workshop
  Though primarily focused on organized crime in the U.S., this conference proceeding includes a brief discussion of international laws and efforts dealing with organized crime.

Trade and Investment

The trade and investment regulations, both at the national and international levels, are some of the legal tools used to combat corruption. Taxation and reporting requirements are an examples of these types of regulations. The list below is meant to address the breadth of this issue and to present starting points for locating further resources.

• Bloomberg Law: International Trade News
  Bloomberg Law news page tracking developments in international trade.
   
• International Trade Law, 5th ed.
  Includes coverage of corruption in international trade and business operations and how major international conventions address them.
   
• WTO: Trade Policy Review Mechanism (TPRM)
  The WTO’s Trade Policy Reviews can be viewed by country or date. These reviews include the current trade situation within a country and related legal developments.