Locating the law of a country will have many components. For a good introduction about general (and jurisdiction specific) resources, as well as an overview of how to approach foreign law research see our Foreign & Comparative Law Research Guide. Below is a sampling of resources as good places to start locating foreign law on this topic. Most are freely available on the Internet; some are available to Georgetown Law Only.
- The Council of Europe: Action Against Economic Crime and Corruption
The Council of Europe is an international organization dedicated to promoting democracy, human rights, and the rule of law. This gateway page provides access to treaties and other international legal standards drafted by the Council to fight corruption, as well as technical papers, and other publications. For information about ongoing anti-corruption initiatives, visit the website of GRECO, the Council's working group of states against corruption.
- Europe Union -- Fraud Prevention
This gateway page provides information about the EU's efforts to combat counterfeiting, smuggling, and other forms of corruption through OLAF, the EU's anti-fraud office. Summaries of EU anti-fraud legislation are available on the EUR-Lex database.
- Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) -- Bribery & Corruption Resources
The OECD provides a forum for its 34 members states to share data and develop solutions to common problems, including corruption. This gateway page provides access to the following:
- Organization of American States (OAS) -- Actions Against Corruption
The OAS is a regional organization comprised of 35 member states from the Western Hemisphere. This gateway page provides information about the Inter-American Convention Against Corruption, a directory of national anti-corruption legislation arranged by topic, and related information.
- Getting the Deal Through (GTDT)
This multi-jurisdictional resource offers in-depth, practitioner-written summaries of anti-corruption regulations in 29 jurisdictions throughout the world. Begin by selecting "anti-corruption regulation" from the menu of practice areas. Then select a jurisdiction or use the comparison tool to compare laws across multiple jurisdictions.
- The Foreign Law Guide
Use this subscription database to identify primary law sources for jurisdictions outside the U.S. Content is organized by jurisdiction and by subject. In some cases, you may find a direct link to an electronic version of a law. In other cases, only a citation to a print source is provided.
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII) has listed in its subject Index, Corruption
While WorldLII does not have materials for all countries, this resource can sometimes have case law and legislation, as well as links to other relevant resources. This is a list of the countries with available information.