Privacy & Information Law Research Guide

An excellent resource for searching for policy information, analysis, reports, and the like. This is a curated Google Custom Search that searches the websites of more than 1200 partisan and non-partisan think tanks, advocacy groups, non-governmental organizations, and research centers, among others.

Note: RAND is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization.

Note: RAND is a nonprofit, nonpartisan research organization.

AJL’s mission is to raise public awareness about the impacts of AI, equip advocates with resources to bolster campaigns, build the voice and choice of the most impacted communities, and galvanize researchers, policymakers, and industry practitioners to prevent AI harms. AJL is a fiscally sponsored project of Allied Media Projects, Inc.

Aims to advance good governance of transformative new technologies by producing rigorous research and bringing together leaders from across the technology and policy communities.

The Center for Democracy & Technology (CDT) is a leading nonpartisan, nonprofit organization fighting to advance civil rights and civil liberties in the digital age.

A policy research organization within Georgetown University’s Walsh School of Foreign Service, CSET produces data-driven analysis on the security implications of emerging technologies. CSET is currently focusing on the topics of artificial intelligence (AI), advanced computing, and biotechnology. See a list of CSET's research topics here; many of them (particularly Applications, Assessment, CyberAI, & Workforce) include analysis related to AI technologies. You can also navigate their website's resources by using "Research Topics" or "Publications" in the top menu.

Earth.Org is an environmental news website dedicated to providing comprehensive coverage of issues affecting our planet through independent journalism. This page collects their reporting on AI.

The Electronic Frontier Foundation is a leading nonprofit organization defending civil liberties in the digital world. Founded in 1990, EFF focuses on issues of user privacy, free expression, and innovation through impact litigation, policy analysis, grassroots activism, and technology development.

The Future of Privacy Forum (FPF) is a non-profit organization that focuses on privacy leadership and scholarship, advancing principled data practices in support of emerging technologies. It "brings together industry, academics, consumer advocates, and other thought leaders to explore the challenges posed by technological innovation and to develop privacy protections, ethical norms, and workable business practices."

A compilation of Pew research on or related to AI. Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. They do not take policy positions.

Public Knowledge is a nonprofit that promotes freedom of expression, an open internet, and access to affordable communications tools and creative works.

The ABA Journal maintains a directory of legal blogs, which can be organized by topic. This link will take you to their list of privacy law blogs.

Justia maintains a directory of legal blogs; this is their page listing the "most popular" blogs on privacy law.

Although its Law & Disorder blog appears to be discontinued, Ars Techinca is tech news site which often includes discussions of issues related to privacy and information law and policy. Ars Technica's AI news page is located here.

The "Latest Insights" page for the Center for Democracy & Technology, which includes materials on privacy & data law and policy.

The EFF's Deeplinks blog often discusses issues related to privacy and information law and policy.

A blog on information, law, and the law of information, authored by four law professors at various institutions, hosted by the Berkman Center for Internet and Society at Harvard Law School.

A blog by attorneys at Hunton & Williams.

Insight and commentary on information management and protection by attorneys at Davis Wright Tremaine.

A blog by Prof. Daniel Solove.

A privacy law blog authored by attorneys at Proskauer.

Authored by attorneys at Foley Hoag.

Focuses on startup and technology news. TechCrunch's AI news is here.

The Techdirt blog offers analysis and insight into news stories about government policy, technology, and legal issues. Often has posts related to privacy and information law and policy. TechDirt stories tagged with "AI" are here.

AI news by Wired Magazine.

Security news by Wired Magazine, including news on topics of cybersecurity, hacks, privacy, national security, and more.

A resource by Daniel Solove and Paul Schwartz listing new privacy non-fiction books by publication year.

A membership organization for privacy professionals.

An annual conference held in Washington, DC, that brings together privacy professionals and security professionals, as well as CIOs, attorneys, academics, policymakers, and experts from NGOs & think tanks.

Future of Privacy Forum is a nonprofit organization that "brings together industry, academics, consumer advocates, and other thought leaders to explore the challenges posed by technological innovation and to develop privacy protections, ethical norms, and workable business practices."
On their Resources page, you can select "Resource Types" (e.g. Reports, White Papers, Infographics, Policy Briefs) on the left.

Wex is Cornell LII's free online legal encyclopedia. This is their entry on privacy law. Includes cross-references to a few other entries.

Click-able map version available here.

News and analysis on legal developments including litigation filings, case settlements, verdicts, regulation, enforcement, legislation, corporate deals, and business of law.

Legal news and reports.

Useful for all manner of federal legislative history research, and also has an excellent collection of non-partisan Congressional Research Service (CRS) reports.