Guides: Government Contracts Research Guide: Case Law

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Government Contract Case & Administrative Decisions Databases

Hein: GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions
The GAO Reports and Comptroller General Decisions database contains reports on audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of federal programs conducted by the United States Government Accountability Office (GAO). All published reports, testimonies, correspondence, and special publications are included.
Lexis: All Public Contracts Law Cases
All available cases on Lexis from any Federal or state court pertaining to public contracts.
VitalLaw: Government Contracts: Contract Cases Federal (1956 - 2010)
Contains federal court decisions on government contracting matters; coverage includes U.S. Supreme Court, Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, Court of Federal Claims (and predecessor courts), and all other federal and district courts. Decisions include expert-written headnotes and links to annotations for related decisions.
VitalLaw: Government Contracts: Contract Cases Federal (2011-Current)
Contains federal court decisions on government contracting matters; coverage includes U.S. Supreme Court, Federal Circuit Court of Appeals, Court of Federal Claims (and predecessor courts), and all other federal and district courts. Decisions include expert-written headnotes and links to annotations for related decisions.
Westlaw: Government Contract Cases
Case law from federal and state courts related to contracts with governments or their political subdivisions.

Cases & Decisions

I. Courts and Tribunals

Court of Last Resort

U.S. Supreme Court
Lexis: U.S. Supreme Court Cases, Lawyers' Edition
Coverage: 1789-Current.
Westlaw: U.S. Supreme Court Cases
Coverage: 1790-Current.

Intermediate Appellate Court

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit
The Federal Circuit Court of Appeals has appellate jurisdiction over all Customs cases.
Lexis: Federal Circuit - US Court of Appeals Cases
Coverage: 1982-Current.
Westlaw: Federal Circuit Court of Appeals Cases
Coverage: 1856-Current (includes Court of Claims decisions).

Trial-Level Courts/Tribunals

A. U.S. Court of Federal Claims (and predecessor courts)

Lexis: US Court of Federal Claims, Claims Court & Court of Claims Cases
Coverage from 1856-Current.
Westlaw: U.S. Court of Federal Claims Cases
Coverage: 1856-Current; includes cases from the U.S. Courts of Federal Claims, Court of Claims, and Claims Court.

B. Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1951-Current
Westlaw: Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1955-Current.

C. Civilian Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Civilian Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 2007-Current
Westlaw: Civilian Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 2007-Current

D. Government Accountability Office Contract Appeals Board

Lexis: Government Accountability Office Contract Appeals Board Decisions
Coverage: 1974-Current
Westlaw: Government Accountability Office Contract Appeals Board Decisions
Coverage: 1974-Current

E. Postal Service Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Postal Service Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1959-Current.
Westlaw: Postal Service Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1959-Current.

II. Defunct Tribunals

A. Corps of Engineers Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Army Corps of Engineers Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1952-2000; docket transferred to the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals.
Westlaw: Corps of Engineers Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1952-2000; docket transferred to the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals.

B. Agriculture Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Agriculture Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1968-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Agriculture Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1968-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

C. Department of Transportation Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Department of Transportation Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1967-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Department of Transportation Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1967-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

D. Department of Energy Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Department of Energy Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1978-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Energy Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1959-2006; consolidated with the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

E. General Services Administration Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: General Services Administration Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1962-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: General Services Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1962-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

F. Housing and Urban Development Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Housing and Urban Development Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1974-2007; consolidate into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Housing and Urban Development Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1975-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

G. Department of Interior Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Department of Interior Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1955-2006; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Interior Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1955-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

H. Department of Labor Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Department of Labor Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1973-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Labor Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1973-2007; consolidated into Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

I. National Aeronautics and Space Agency Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: NASA Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1960-1993; this board's functions are now carried out by the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals.
Westlaw: National Aeronautics and Space Agency Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1960-1993; this board's functions are now carried out by the Armed Services Board of Contract Appeals.

J. Veterans Affairs Board of Contract Appeals

Lexis: Veterans Affairs Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1960-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.
Westlaw: Veterans Administration Board of Contract Appeals Decisions
Coverage: 1958-2007; consolidated into the Civilian Board of Contract Appeals in 2007.

Government Contracts Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Government Contract Case & Administrative Decisions Databases

Cases & Decisions

I. Courts and Tribunals

II. Defunct Tribunals