The following newsletters and blogs are great sources for seminar paper topic ideas and commentary on current issues in education policy and law. Other good sources include websites of government agencies, research centers, school reform organizations, advocacy groups, and coalitions and associations. An short list of some relevant groups is included on the Agencies and Organizations tab of this research guide.
- The Chronicle of Higher Education
Provides online searchable full text access to the latest issues of The Chronicle and archives back to 1989. Also includes daily news, advice columns, current job listings and discussion forums. Coverage: 1989 - present.
- Education Commission of the States (ECS) Press Room
The Education Commission of the States publishes several newsletters covering different education-related topics. You can access the newsletters from their website or subscribe the newsletters and receive them by email. These newsletters include:
- ECS Ed Clips. Gives you the day's top education news, as well as a link to Education Week's extensive daily news roundup. Current service only.
- ECS Ed Beat. A biweekly newsletter that covers new and upcoming policy analysis, state outreach and testimony, timely blog posts, and important frequently asked questions of ECS's policy experts.
- Ed Note Blog. Contains recent commentary and policy news, updated weekly.
- Education Week (Editorial Projects in Education, EPE)
EPE is a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization based in Washington, D.C., with a mission to help raise the level of awareness and understanding among professionals and the public of important issues in American education. It covers local, state, and national news and issues from preschool through the 12th grade. Education Week is American education's newspaper of record. Web-only stories require online subscription. Core contents are available:
- In print: The Library keeps issues from the past six months on Reserve (ask at the Williams Circulation Desk)
- Lexis: Education Week
- Electronic access is also available through a number of other subscription databases.
News publications may also be helpful sources. Some news sources are:
- ProQuest. Provides access to full-text or abstracts of newspaper or magazine articles.
- Lexis: Transcripts provides access to full-text transcripts of TV and radio programs from ABC, CBS News, CNBC, CNN, Fox News, MSNBC, National Public Radio, etc. Coverage varies by program.
- Westlaw: Transcripts "TV and radio transcripts from 18 countries around the world including the US, Canada, UK, Australia, South Africa, and others." Coverage includes most major U.S. networks, but varies by program.