Legislative History Research Guide

Provides a detailed look at the legislative process. Also available as a PDF.

These treatises typically explain the legislative process and may also include discussions of how legislative history documents can be used to aid in statutory interpretation. (For example, Sutherland discusses using legislative history documents for statutory interpretation in Chapter 48.)

A classic video from the children's program Schoolhouse Rock. Runtime: ~3 minutes

Brief explanations of a large number of legislative terms.

This study by John Cannan and the Villanova law library reviews how laws were passed during the 111th-116th Congresses and the information sources that were generated for each law. A useful summary and analysis of this data is available in the article Long Live Schoolhouse Rock! How Congress is Legislating Now (AALL Spectrum, March/April 2022).

This series of nine short videos is available for free on Congress.gov.

A part of the CQ Press Congress Collection on SAGE, this electronic resource provides in-depth explanations for how Congress works.

Provides detailed biographical and political summaries of elected officials and staff information. Includes profiles for committees and for districts. Current information only. Published by National Journal.

Contains detailed profiles of members, statistics, and district maps. Published by CQ (2000 - present). (After clicking the link, scroll down to find this resource.)

Access Leadership Connect using your Georgetown University NetID and password. Formerly known as Leadership Library and, prior to that, as the Federal Yellow Book, this electronic resource provides detailed directory information on various individuals in leadership positions in a searchable database. Biographies of Members of Congress as well as Congressional staff include their educational background, contact information, photos, and publications, where available. Also has features such as district maps and Policy Connect, which connects bills/legislation to the members, staff, and other government offices involved.

Free website that provides profiles and analysis of members of Congress, including legislative metrics and sponsorship/leadership analytics. Alerts/tracking also available.

Links to brief biographies and to bills sponsored or co-sponsored.