| Abbreviation | Publication | Description |
| A. A. 2d A. 3d | Atlantic Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Connecticut, Delaware, the District of Columbia, Maine, Maryland, New Hampshire, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, and Vermont. |
| Am. Jur Am. Jur. 2d | American Jurisprudence | A popular legal encyclopedia, with entries summarizing legal topics and providing citations to relevant cases. |
| A.L.R. | American Law Reports | A series of articles focusing in depth on a specific legal concept and its development, with citations to relevant cases and secondary sources. |
| C.F.R. | Code of Federal Regulations | The official collection of all federal regulations currently in force. |
| C.J.S. | Corpus Juris Secundum | A popular legal encyclopedia, with entries summarizing legal topics and providing citations to relevant cases. |
| Cong. Rec. | Congressional Record | A daily publication that is the official record of the activities of the United States Congress. |
| F. F.2d F.3d | Federal Reporter | A case law reporter containing appellate cases from the federal circuit court system, specifically from the 11 numbered Circuit Courts, the District of Columbia Circuit, and the Federal Circuit. |
| F.R.D. | Federal Rules Decisions | A case law reporter containing all cases involving the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, and the Federal Rules of Evidence that were decided by the United States District Courts but were not selected for publication in the Federal Supplement. |
| Fed. Appx. | Federal Appendix | A case law reporter containing "unpublished" appellate cases from the federal circuit court system. |
| Fed. R. App. | Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure | A set of procedural rules that govern how cases may be appealed to and heard by Federal appellate courts. |
| Fed. R. Civ. P. | Federal Rules of Civil Procedure | A set of procedural rules that govern how civil lawsuits may be adjudicated in Federal district courts. |
| Fed. R. Crim. P. | Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure | A set of procedural rules that govern how criminal cases may be tried in Federal district courts, or in any other Federal court with original criminal jurisdiction. |
| Fed. R. Evid. | Federal Rules of Evidence | A set of procedural rules that govern how evidence may be introduced and used in Federal courts. |
| F. Supp. F. Supp. 2d F. Supp. 3d | Federal Supplement | A case law reporter containing select cases decided by the United States District Courts. |
| Fed. Reg. | Federal Register | A daily publication that is the official record of the activities of the executive branch of the United States government. |
| L. Ed. L. Ed. 2d | United States Supreme Court Reports, Lawyers' Edition | An unofficial case law reporter of the United States Supreme Court, it features annotations including headnotes and case summaries. |
| N.E. N.E.2d N.E.3d | North Eastern Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, New York, and Ohio. |
| N.W. N.W. 2d | North Western Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wisconsin. |
| P. P.2d P.3d | Pacific Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Oregon, Utah, Washington, and Wyoming. |
| Pub. L. | Public Law | A designation given to statutes passed by the United States Congress. |
| S. Ct. | Supreme Court Reporter | An unofficial case law reporter of the United States Supreme Court, it features annotations including headnotes and West Key Numbers. |
| S.E. S.E.2d | South Eastern Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, Virginia, and West Virginia. |
| So. So. 2d So. 3d | Southern Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, and Mississippi. |
| Stat. | Statutes at Large | The official record of the acts and resolutions passed by the United States Congress. |
| S.W. S.W.2d S.W.3d | South Western Reporter | A regional case law reporter containing cases from the appellate and supreme courts of Arkansas, Kentucky, Missouri, Tennessee, and Texas. |
| T.I.A.S. | Treaties and Other International Acts Series | Slip versions of treaties and agreements entered into by the United States from 1946-present. |
| U.C.C. | Uniform Commercial Code | A frequently-cited set of proposed state laws dealing with sales and commercial transactions. |
| U.N.T.S. | United Nations Treaty Series | A publication of the Secretariat of the United Nations containing all treaties and international agreements registered with or filed by the United Nations. Translations into English and French are included if the original document was drafted in another language. |
| U.S. | United States Reports | The official case law reporter of the United States Supreme Court. |
| U.S.C. | United States Code | The official collection of all federal statutes currently in force. |
| U.S.C.A. | United States Code Annotated | An unofficial collection of all federal statutes currently in force. This West publication includes annotations like summaries, headnotes, and West Key Numbers in addition to the text of the United States Code. |
| U.S.C.S. | United States Code Service | An unofficial collection of all federal statutes currently in force. This LexisNexis publication includes annotations like summaries and headnotes in addition to the text of the United States Code. |
| U.S.T. | United States Treaties and Other International Agreements | A collection of treaties and agreements entered into by the United States from 1950-1984. |