Virginia Resources

Bills

• Bills & Resolutions (Va. Legis. Info. Session) (1994 - current session)
• VA Full-Text Bills on Lexis (1992 - current session)
• Virginia Proposed Legislation (Bills) on Westlaw (current session)

Bill Status

• VA Bill Tracking Reports on Lexis (1990 to current session)
• Virginia Bill Tracking on Westlaw (current session): Summaries and status information concerning current and recently-ended Virginia legislation. Bills are tracked from their introduction throughout the legislative process.

Historical Bills

• Virginia Historical Proposed Legislation (Bills) on Westlaw (2005 - previous session)
• Virginia Bill Tracking: Historical on Westlaw (2005 - previous session). Summaries and status information concerning historic Virginia legislation.

At the conclusion of each session of the General Assembly, all newly-passed statutes are compiled in session law services. The laws are compiled in chronological order, and assigned consecutive chapter numbers in the order of passage. The chapters constitute the Acts of the Assembly for that legislative session. All print services contain the official language of all Virginia laws, and include indexes to new acts by subject and code provision affected.

Acts of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia (Va. Acts)

Official legislative service and session laws. (Formerly called Acts and Joint Resolutions of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia.)

Databases

• Virginia Advance Legislative Service on Lexis (1989 - )
• Virginia Enacted Legislation (Session Laws) on Westlaw (current session)
• Virginia Acts on Bloomberg Law (2009 - )

State Website

• Acts of the General Assembly (Va. Legis. Info. Sys.) (1994 - ): Session laws can be found on the Bills and Resolutions page for each session year. Search by bill number.

Print Session Laws

All print services contain the official language of all Virginia laws, and include indexes to new acts by subject and code provision affected.

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2425 .A213 (1933, 1936-1937, 1944-1945, 1968 - 1970, 1980, 1983 - ): Currently updated at Law Library.

Historical Session Laws

Databases

• Virginia Historical Enacted Legislation (Session Laws) on Westaw (1990 - previous session)
• HeinOnline Session Laws Library: Virginia (1661 - , including the Virginia Colony (1661-1775))
• LLMC Digital: Virginia Session Laws (1833 - 1994)

Website

• HathiTrust Digital Library: Collection of digitized Acts of the General Assembly of the Commonwealth of Virginia (coverage varies, full-text access to copyright-free volumes only)

Print & Print Equivalent

• Law Library Call Number: Special Collections KFV2425 .A213 (1831 - 1865)
• Law Library Call Number: Media 1st Flor KFV2425 .A213 Micro: Coverage starts from 1776, last updated in 2006 at Law Library.

Virginia Advance Legislative Service (Lexis Nexis) (Va. Adv. Legis. Serv. (LexisNexis))

All print services contain the official language of all Virginia laws, and include indexes to new acts by subject and code provision affected.

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2431 .A3: Currently updated at Law Library.

West's Virginia Legislative Service (Va. Legis. Serv. (West))

All print services contain the official language of all Virginia laws, and include indexes to new acts by subject and code provision affected.

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2430 .A44: Currently updated at Law Library.