Guides: Virginia Resources: Secondary Sources

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Encyclopedia, Practice Series & Treatises

Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia: A Complete Treatise of Virginia and West Virginia Law

This is a legal encyclopedia which addresses Virginia legal topics in an introductory fashion. There is a summary of the law, citations to cases, statutes and secondary sources.

Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia on Lexis.
In print: Michie's Jurisprudence of Virginia and West Virginia, Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KVF2465 .M4, currently updated at Law Library.

Virginia Forms

Includes forms covering civil litigation, criminal procedure and real estate transactions.

Virginia Forms on Lexis.
In print: Virginia Forms: Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2468 .V574, currently updated at Law Library.

Practice Series & Treatises

Virginia Practice Series on Westlaw: Includes Business Entities, Civil Discovery, Criminal Offenses & Defenses, Criminal Procedure, Criminal Procedure Forms, DUI Law, Family Law, Jury Instruction, Landlord-Tenant Handbook, Probate Handbook, Products Liability, Real Estate Closings, Tort and Personal Injury, Trial Handbook and Workers Compensation.
Virginia Treatises on Lexis: Approximately 20 twenty publications including Bryson on Virginia Civil Procedure, Domestic Relations Handbook, Goolsby on Virginia Corporations, Harrison on Wills and Administration, Law of Evidence, and Sinclair on Virginia Remedies.
Practice Advisor Virginia on Westlaw.

Research Guides

Virginia Legal Materials: Practice Materials Guide (Geo. Mason University L. Libr.).
Legal blogs about a state's laws may be found on Justia's Blawg and ABA Journal's Blawg.

Historical Legal Treatises & Materials in General

LLMC Digital: U.S. States & Territories
Includes historical primary sources, but secondary sources such as historical newspapers, periodicals, treatises, executive decisions and more.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources I & II, 1620-1970
Contains a searchable digitized archive of U.S. state and territories primary legal sources, including historical state codes, but also historical reports, forms and treatises.
HeinOnline Prestatehood Legal Materials
Provides brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood and identifies historical state codes, journals, digests, reports, surveys, and more.

State Law Reviews, Bar Journals and Local Newspapers

University of Richmond Law Review: Publishes an Annual Survey of Virginia Law.

U. Rich. L. Rev. on HeinOnline: (Vols. 1 - , 1958).

Virginia Lawyers Weekly (Va. Laws. Wkly): Publishes legal news, appellate decisions, verdict and settlement reports, passed and pending legislation, etc. Digital edition starts in 2012.

Va. Laws. Wkly. on Lexis (2002 - ).
Va. Laws. Wkly. on Westlaw (2002 - ).

Virginia Bar Association (VBA) Journal (Va. Bar J.): This and its earlier title, VBA News Journal, are the official publication of the state's bar association. Digital edition starts with volume 27 (2001).