Virginia Resources

This State Guide provides an in-depth look at sources of law in Virginia.

Cases

Virginia Supreme Court (formerly Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals)

Databases

Websites

Print Reports

Virginia Reports (Va.) and Virginia Reports Annotated (Va.) (Official)
  • All Supreme Court opinions are published. Each volume contains a List of Cases, Cases Cited, Constitution and Statutes Cited, Cases Explained, Criticized or Overruled, Appeals and Withdrawals of Execution Refused, Citation of Virginia Reports, Supreme Court Rules and an Index. The formal titles have changed throughout the history of the print version.
  • Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2425 .A2 v.212 - (1972 - ): Currently updated at Law Library. Publication titled as Cases Decided in the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Historical Reports

Databases
Print Reports
Cases Decided in the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia (Va.)
Reports of Cases Decided in the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia (Va.)
Virginia Reports, Jefferson - 22 Gratton, 1730-1880

Virginia Court of Appeals

Databases

Websites

Print Reports Official

Virginia Court of Appeals Reports (Va. Ct. App.)

Print Reports Unofficial

South Eastern Reporter (S.E. 2d)

Historical Reports

Databases
Print Reports Unofficial
South Eastern Reporter (S.E. and S.E. 2d)

Virginia Circuit Courts

Databases

Print Reports Unofficial

Court Opinion Finding Aids

Virginia and West Virginia Digest: Covering Cases from State and Federal Courts

West's South Eastern Digest, 2d

Dockets

Docket Search

  • Case Status and Information (Virginia's Judicial System): Includes the case information for Supreme Court of Virginia, Court of Appeals of Virginia, as well as criminal and traffic case information in general district courts and select circuit courts.

Records & Briefs

Court Rules in General

May be found in Lexis' Court Rules and Westlaw's Statutes & Court Rules. Court rules may also be found within the court's web site.

Court Statistics in General

May be found on the court's website, published in the court's administrative office annual reports.

The Florida Courts published a comparative report, State Court Systems Profiles (2010), where each state's court system hierarchy, number of judges, terms of office, governance and funding are summarized.

Case Law Research Tutorial

Tutorial "play" tile.