Guides: Virgin Islands Resources: Cases & Courts

Key to Icons

VI Cases on Westlaw Documents that are released for publication in West Federal Reporters from the following Virgin Island courts: United States District Court of the Virgin Islands: begins with 1918; Municipal Courts: 1960-1976; Superior Court of the Virgin Islands (formerly Territorial Court of the Virgin Islands): begins with 1977; Supreme Court of the Virgin Islands: begins with 2007.
VI Cases on Lexis VI Superior & Territorial Cases from 1959; VI Supreme Court Cases from 2007.
Published Opinions Supreme Court of the U.S. Virgin Islands (Sup. Ct. U.S. V.I.) Coverage from 2007.
Unpublished Opinions Supreme Court of the U.S. Virgin Islands (Sup. Ct. U.S. V.I.) Coverage from 2007.
Court Opinions Superior Court of the U.S Virgin Islands (Superior Ct. U.S. V.I.) Select coverage from 2001.

Virgin Islands Reports, Call Number: INTL KGZ13 .A24, no longer updated in Law Library, but collection starts with volume 1 (1917), includes Vol. 1 1917-1939; v. 2, 1940-1953; v. 3, 1954-1958; v. 4, 1959-1964, opinions of the District Court of the Virgin Islands, Circuit Court of Appeals, Third Circuit, etc.

Some state court dockets may be found in:
- Westlaw: Dockets: See Coverage Status by Court or Dockets Index to determine coverage for Georgetown Law accounts. See Dockets and Court Wire to determine which court materials are covered by the two Westlaw services. Georgetown Law does not have access to Court Wire, but does to Court Wire Alert Archive.
- Lexis: Dockets.
- Bloomberg Law Docket Search: See Dockets Coverages & Outages for coverage. Docket coverage does not mean, however, that all filings within the coverage dates are held by Bloomberg Law. Also, see our Law Library's FAQ on fees and Bloomberg Law's Docket Search.
Try searching for dockets on the court's web site. The National Center for State Courts offers judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.

Some Briefs and Trial Court Documents may be available on Westlaw.
CourtLink and Briefs, Pleadings and Motions may be found on Lexis.
To locate state court materials not available within Westlaw, Lexis or Bloomberg Law, see Dockets & Court Documents page in our Briefs, Oral Arguments and Other Court Documents Research Guide.
Some state appellate courts may make recordings of oral arguments and hearings available on their web sites.
The Law Library's ILL Services, a library-to-library resource sharing service, does not order court materials from a court's clerk. Please contact the court directly for copies.