Maryland Resources

West's Maryland Law Encyclopedia

This encyclopedia is much like American Jurisprudence or Corpus Juris Secundum, but its analysis is limited to Maryland law, and it cites primarily Maryland cases and statutes. It is an excellent starting point for Maryland legal research.

• West's Maryland Law Encyclopedia on Westlaw
• In print: West's Maryland Law Encyclopedia: Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1265 .W4, currently updated at Law Library.

Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer

Explains numerous topics, including family law, real property, criminal law, business organizations, law office management, and landlord and tenant law.

• Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer on Lexis
• Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer on Westlaw
• In print: Practice Manual for the Maryland Lawyer: Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1268. P73 2019, currently updated at Law Library. In its print version this is a set of several loose-leaf volumes.

Maryland Practice Series

Consisting of seven separate publications, the series include civil procedure, DUI law, state & federal evidence, confessions, summary judgment, workers' compensation and trial handbook.

• Maryland Practice Series on Westlaw

Trial Handbook for Maryland Lawyers

• Trial Handbook for Maryland Lawyers on Westlaw
• In print: Trial Handbook for Maryland Lawyers: Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1738 .S74 1997, currently updated at Law Library.

Maryland Civil Pattern Jury Instructions

• Maryland Civil Pattern Jury Instructions on Lexis
• Maryland Civil Pattern Jury Instructions on Westaw 
• In print: Maryland Civil Pattern Jury Instructions, Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1742 .M3 2019: Currently updated at Law Library.

Maryland Criminal Pattern Jury Instructions

• Maryland Criminal Jury Instructions and Commentary on Lexis
• Maryland Criminal Pattern Jury Instructions on Westlaw
• In print: Maryland Criminal Pattern Jury Instructions: Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFM1783 .M39 2012.

More Treatises

• Other Recommended Maryland Treatises by Maryland State Law Library. Search for the recommended titles in the Law Library's catalog for availability or accessibility, or contact Reference Services for assistance.
• More Maryland Treatises on Lexis
• Maryland Continuing Legal Education Titles on Westlaw
• More Maryland Texts & Treatises on Westlaw
• Practical Law Maryland on Westlaw

More on Practice

• Khelani Clay & Adeen Postar, Maryland Practice Materials: A Selective Annotated Bibliography, in State Practice Materials: Annotated Bibliographies (Frank G. Houdek & Adeen Postar eds., 2014). Search for a cited title against the Law Library's catalog for availability or accessibility, or ask for assistance from Reference Services.
• Legal blogs about a state's laws may be found on Justia's Blawg and ABA Journal's Blawg.

Maryland Law Review: Published by University of Maryland School of Law and covers developments in Maryland case law in the State of Maryland.

• Md. L. Rev. on HeinOnline (Vols. 1 - , 1936 - )

Maryland Bar Journal: Published by the Maryland State Bar Association, accessible through a membership subscription, publishes current Maryland legal topics.

• Md. Bar J. on HeinOnline (Vols. 1 - ,1969 - )

The Daily Record: A daily newspaper containing legal announcements, court calendar, opinions of the Attorney General, and synopses of important court decisions.

• The Daily Rec. on Westlaw (Dec. 2009 - )
• The Daily Rec. on Lexis (Mar. 7, 1995 - )
• In microformat: The Daily Rec.: Law Library Call Number: Media 1st Floor microform Newspaper Micro Film Row C, Cabinet 18  (1888 - ), last updated in 2011 at Law Library

MD Law Reviews & Journals on Lexis

MD Law Reviews & Journals on Westlaw

HeinOnline Law Journal Library: Maryland

Check the CALI Lesson on Maryland's secondary sources to find more legal research sources.