Georgetown Law Library

Delaware Resources

This State Guide lists the major sources of law in Delaware.

Contents

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Practice Materials

There is no general legal encyclopedia available for Delaware.
Delaware Treatises on Lexis
Delaware Text & Treatises on Westlaw
Delaware Practice Notes on Lexis
Practical Law Delaware on Westlaw

Research Guide

Delaware Legal Research: Treatises & CLE Materials (Widener U. L. Libr.)

State Law Reviews & Bar Journals

Widener Law Review
- Widener L. Rev. on HeinOnline (Vols. 1 - , 1996 - )
Delaware Lawyer
- Del. Law. on HeinOnline (Vols. 1 - , 1982 - )
DE Law Reviews & Journals on Lexis
DE Law Reviews & Journals on Westlaw
HeinOnline Law Journal Library: Delaware

Historical Legal Treatises & Materials in General

LLMC Digital: U.S. States & Territories
Includes historical primary sources, but secondary sources such as historical newspapers, periodicals, treatises, executive decisions and more.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources I & II, 1620-1970
Contains a searchable digitized archive of U.S. state and territories primary legal sources, including historical state codes, but also historical reports, forms and treatises.
HeinOnline Prestatehood Legal Materials
Provides brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood and identifies historical state codes, journals, digests, reports, surveys, and more.

More on Practice in General

Legal blogs about a state's laws may be found on Justia's Blawg Directory.

More on Secondary Sources

Check the CALI Lesson on Delaware's secondary sources to find more legal research resources.

Additional Resources

AALL Online Legal Information Resources
Links to free online primary legal materials & public law libraries in each state.
Delaware Judicial Law Libraries
Law Libraries in the State (Justia)
Delaware Public Archives
Delaware State Bar Association
Delaware State Facts (Del. Gov't)
Official Web Site of the Delaware Tribe of Indians

Native American Law Research Guide
by Rachel Jorgensen Last Updated Sep 26, 2024 1518 views this year