Locating foreign statutes can be challenging. While many foreign governments provide their legislation on the internet, very few provide English translations. Fortunately, there are many great sources for foreign environmental law. The Wolff Library has several codes in print. Try searching theonline catalog using terms such as < environmental code germany > to get useful results. The sources listed below have good collections of laws and have been useful in the past. For more detailed information on foreign law research, see our Foreign & Comparative Law Research Guide.
- Compendium of Environmental Laws of African Countries INTL KQC705.C65 1996(infrequently updated)
Some of this information is dated, but still a good resource for African environmental law. Also on Google books with ( Benin-Lesotho & Mali-Tunisia) previews of full text.
Great, free database from FAO includes national legislation (some translations). Use the advanced search option to search by jurisdiction.
- Foreign Law Guide database (Georgetown Law Only)
The best source for locating the law for many foreign jurisdictions. It provides the researcher with relevant information on sources of foreign law, including complete bibliographic citations to legislation, the existence of English translations whenever possible, and selected references to secondary sources in English. Each jurisdiction also has an Internet Sources section.
- International Encyclopedia of Laws : Environmental Law Online
This database provides extensive background information on the environmental law of individual countries. Useful for finding citations and summaries of statutes and regulations. It does not have translations of foreign statutes.
- International Protection of the Environment : Conservation in Sustainable DevelopmentINTL K3585.4.I58 1995 (updated regularly)
- Library Databases (Georgetown Law Only)
We subscribe to legal databases for the following countries: India (SCC Online Note: you must enter your email when you use this site and register your name the first time), China (ChinaLawInfo),Vietnam, and Uganda.
- World Legal Information Institute (WorldLII)
The wealth of information here is maintained by several legal research institutes around the world. We suggest clicking on "All Countries" on the left side and then selecting your jurisdiction. For many countries, there are legislation and case law databases, but also try links listed under subject or legislation. Worldlii has legal information from 86 countries.