Law Review Articles

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Below are some law review articles written about student practice, both the rules themselves and other issues that arise when law students represent clients. Consult our research guide on Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research to expand your research.

Student Practice as a Method of Legal Education and a Means of Providing Legal Assistance to Indigents: An Empirical Study, 15 Wm. & Mary L. Rev. 363 (1973)
Provides an historical perspective of student practice rules.
Adrienne Thomas McCoy, Law Student Advocates and Conflicts of Interest Notes and Comments, 73 Wash. L. Rev. 731 (1998)
Adam Glaser, The Implications of Changes to Law Student Practice Rules, 12 Geo. J. Legal Ethics 751 (1999)
Peter A. Joy, The Ethics of Law School Students as Student-Lawyers, 45 S. Tex. L. Rev. 815 (2004)
Ursula H. Weigold, Attorney-Client Privilege as an Obstacle to the Professional and Ethical Development of Law Students, 33 Pepp. L. Rev. 677 (2006)
Jennifer A. Gundlach, "This is a Courtroom, Not a Classroom": So What is the Role of the Clinical Supervisor? 13 Clinical L. Rev. 279 (2006)
Barrett Hails, "I'll Supervise, Your Honor" Ethical and Legal Considerations Arising From the Use of Law Students in Court Proceedings, 36 J. Legal Prof. 225 (2011)
Patrick C. Brayer, Understanding Missouri's Rule 13: Preparing to Supervise a Student Practitioner, 66 J. Mo. B. 184 (2010)
Wally Mylenic, Conceptualizing Student Practice for the 21st Century: Educational and Ethical Considerations in Modernizing the District of Columbia Student Practice, 28 Geo. J. Legal Ethics 207 (2015)
Gillian Chapwick, (Un)Supervised Student Practice, 58 San Diego L. Rev. 497 (2021)

Law Journal Databases

Search these databases for law reviews and legal newsletters.

HeinOnline: Law Journal Library HeinOnline content is image-based in PDF format and fully searchable. My Hein allows users to save search queries and bookmark their search results after creating a user account.

LegalTrac This link opens in a new window Index of approximately 1,300 journals; coverage begins in 1980
Legal Periodicals and Books This link opens in a new window Index of approximately 1,000 journals (with some full text); coverage begins in August 1981.
Index to Foreign Periodicals This link opens in a new window Index of approximately 470 legal journals published throughout the world. This database covers 1985 to present. To find older articles, use the Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals in print (KF8 .I35).

Student Practice Rules - Clinical Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

Law Review Articles

Law Journal Databases