Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy by
Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.
Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy by
From the Nuremberg trials to the Civil Service Reform Act of 1978 to recent budget reconciliation bills, the Encyclopedia of Public Administration and Public Policy, Second Editionreaches still further across the globe to provide detailed coverage of watershed policies and decisions from such fields as privatization, biomedical ethics, education, and diversity. Completely updated to reflect current trends in the vast field of public administration, the second edition of this bestselling encyclopedia provides an exhaustive resource that features the input of leading scholars. Each authoritative entry is a coherent article, rather than a short paragraph, that offers readers salient theories, issues, and concepts. Relevant to practitioners, as well as new and expert scholars, this seminal work provides an introduction to the vast array of subjects included in public administration today, as well as references to additional bodies of knowledge. A brief listing of just a few of the diverse entries found in the encyclopedia: Representative Bureaucracy Gramm-Rudman-Hollings: Impact on the Federal Budgetary Process Administrative Reform in Southeast Asia Gaza Disengagement: Israel Government Forced Resettlement (2005) Public-Private Partnerships for Economic Development Teaching of Ethics in Public Administration Pension Under-Funding: Generational Accounting Perspective Feminism and Chaos Theory Gender Bias, Ethical Analysis of and in Public Policy Metropolitan Governmental Fragmentation State and Local Public Pension Fund Management Evolutionary Theory and Public Policy No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 This second edition features a wide range of new topics, including military administration, government procurement, social theory, and justice administration in developed democracies. It also addresses current issues such as the creation of the Department of Homeland Security and covers public administration in the Middle East, Africa, Southeast Asia, the Pacific, and Latin America. Contact us to inquire about subscription options and print/online combination packages. US: (Tel) 1.888.318.2367 / (email) e-reference@taylorandfrancis.com International: (Tel) +44 (0) 20 7017 6062 / (email) online.sales@tandf.co.uk 　
The Handbook of Social Policy
This comprehensive look at social policy begins with a definition and overview of American social policy and then provides a historical look at social policy, followed by a discussion of the political economy of social policy and social services.
Public Finance and Public Policy by
When first published, Gruber's Public Finance and Public Policy brought a refreshingly contemporary approach. It was the first text written from the ground up to reflect current realities of public finance, enhancing its survey of traditional topics with an emphasis on empirical work and coverage of transfer programs and social insurance. The new edition, fully updated with the most recent data and research possible, includes new coverage of the Medicare drug benefit, changes in the tax code, Hurricane Katrina, and the ongoing debate over privatization.
Studying Public Policy by
This unique book is the first to explore the public policy process through 19 contributions from diverse scholars from all over the world. It uses empirical material to demonstrate how many of the key theories and concepts may be applied to its analysis. These are linked by substantive commentary from the editor, Michael Hill, a renowned policy process expert, and organised into five sections: Stability and Change, Agenda Setting, Policy Formulation, Implementation and Governance and Globalism. This important new resource for policy process teaching uses cases from many policy areas and countries to bring to life for students the reality of the policy-making process using tools that help with understanding the real world.These tools help with the interpretation of the policy process. The book can be used in its own right and to accompany textbooks in the field and will be of value for masters and advanced undergraduate courses, as well as policy analyses and policymakers in public organisations.
Locate many other books on policy by searching the Law Library's catalog using keywords or the following subject headings:
