Review the Model Codes page in the library's Legal Ethics and Legal Profession Research Guide which explains model codes and lists the available versions, including the most recent title Model Rules of Professional Conduct.
Review the State Codes page in the library's Legal Ethics and Legal Profession Research Guide which explains state ethical codes and lists compiled sources to find state ethical rules.
In the Ethics section of each of the library's state resources guides, sources for ethics codes found in databases and websites are listed.
Compiled sources for ethics opinions from the American Bar Association and each state bar association will found on the Ethics Opinions page in the library's Legal Ethics and Legal Profession Research Guide. Resources that publishes disciplinary proceedings are also found on the guide.
In the Ethics section of each of the library's state resources guides, sources for ethics opinions found in databases and websites are listed.
The library's Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility Treatises guide provides a list of introductory texts and in-depth resources on this topic.
Scholarly works on legal ethics in the library may be found by conducting a Library Catalog search with Subject is (exact)
Prepared by the American Law Institute, the Restatement of the Law, Third: The Law Governing Lawyers, is an attempt to restate the law of legal ethics and is intended to clarify and synthesize common law applicable to the legal profession.
Restatement of the Law, Third: The Law Governing LawyersThis looseleaf service is an excellent source of primary materials and commentary on legal ethics.
Formerly a print and online publication known as the ABA/BNA Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct, the Manual is now available on Bloomberg Law. It contains a discussion of a wide variety of issues in legal ethics, citing the Model Code and Model Rules where appropriate. Following the text, there are summaries of and citations to relevant cases. Summaries of recent ethics opinions from state and local bar associations are also included in the Manual. The Current Reports section contains a biweekly newsletter that highlights and reviews the latest developments in the field. Georgetown Law Center users may sign up to receive an electronic version of this newsletter.
The library has access to this looseleaf service both electronically and in print. It collects the full text of each state's ethics code and selected ethics opinions. The most current version is available electronically; the print subscription was canceled in 2008.
National Reporter on Legal Ethics and Professional ResponsibilityMany journals publish articles on issues relating to legal ethics. To locate them, use the journal indexes below. For more help with finding articles, see our Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research Guide.
The Internet provides an inexhaustible amount of legal ethics materials of both primary and secondary authority. An increasing number of government bodies, agencies, and special interest groups disseminate ethics materials via the internet.
The following sites were found to be especially useful when performing legal ethics research online: