When conducting tax research, it is often easier to work with specialized tax loose-leaf services and databases than with more general legal databases. This is particularly true when researching state tax issues because state tax statutes may be located in various places throughout a state's code and because there is no uniformity between the ways different states handle tax administration and regulation. In addition, these specialized tax resources provide invaluable editorial content, annotations, and explanations, which are not available in the more general databases.
Georgetown subscribes to the following specialized state tax loose-leaf services and databases.
- VitalLaw (formerly Cheetah)
CCH's state tax reporters offer the full text of state and local tax statutes, regulations, rulings, releases, court decisions, attorney general opinions, guides, and quick answer charts on multiple tax topics.
- State Tax Guide
This service features tax-based research for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Includes case annotations and the full text of laws, regulations, court decisions and other administrative decisions.
- Multistate Corporate Tax Guide
This service features corporate income-based research for all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Includes case annotations and the full text of laws, regulations, court decisions and other administrative decisions.
- Checkpoint
- To search, select the Search tab, then in the "Practice Area" pulldown menu choose "State"
- To browse, select the Table of Contents tab, then choose "State Tax Library"
You may create a user ID for customized features like alerts, folders, and saving documents or searches. Register at the
Checkpoint registration page using your Georgetown Law email. IDs expire on July 31 and December 31 each year. Re-registration is required.
- Tax Notes
- To search, before using the provided search box, select "Tax Notes State" or "Tax Notes Today State" from the Publications menu, or select a state from the Jurisdictions menu.
- To browse, select "Tax Topics" from the toolbar at the top of the page and then select a jurisdiction from the right column.
- To view state tax codes and regulations, court documents, or legislative documents, select "Tax Notes Research" under Research Tools from the Publications menu. (Some content is freely available even without a subscription.)
You may create a user ID at the
Tax Notes registration page. From the Tax Notes “Sign In” page, enter your Georgetown Law email and click “Next.” On the next page, click “Register Here.”
