Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Education Law Research Guide

This guide includes resources on education law, including charter schools and voucher systems, higher education, special education, accountability, and discrimination.

Law Reviews & Journals

The following resources for academic publications are useful in conducting a preemption check as well as researching your paper.

Online resources are often the most effective for finding recent journal articles. You can use Lexis or Westlaw to search for and retrieve the full text of many, but not all, law journals. For more comprehensive coverage of interdisciplinary education topics published in legal and non-legal journals, you can use online indexes to get citations and often full text for articles across all legal and non-legal journals available through the Library.

  • Lexis and Westlaw
    Both Lexis and Westlaw include selected education law journals in full text. Generally, they don't have articles before 1985 or so, but coverage varies by journal.

Law Journal Indexes

Education Law Journals

This is a non-comprehensive list of journals that focus on both law and education issues.

Social Sciences Journals

If you are using an index that provides only citations, you will need to get the full text of your articles. There is a separate research guide for doing Social Sciences Interdisciplinary Research, as well as a research guide specific to finding Scholarly Articles

If you have a title for an article, one of the easiest ways to retrieve it electronically is through the Library's OneSearch, which searches across our database subscriptions to retrieve the full-text. 

If you cannot find the specific article, you may need to search at the journal level. You may use the E-Journal Finder to find electronic journals available either in various databases or directly through different publishers. You can type the title of the journal (not the article) you wish to retrieve, click the resulting search results to connect to the electronic version of that journal and open the right issue to retrieve your article.

If you need an article from a journal that the Library doesn't have, contact the Reference Desk. We can help you find a library that does have it, or we can show you how to request the article through interlibrary loan (ILL).

Education Databases