Key to Icons
- Georgetown restricted access
- On Westlaw
- On Lexis
- On Bloomberg
- PDF Document
- More Info Available (hover)
Government Agencies & Organizations
- Education Commission of the States
The Education Commission of the States (ECS) is an interstate compact created in 1965 to improve public education by facilitating the exchange of information, ideas and experiences among state policymakers and education leaders. It is a non-profit and non-partisan organization representing 49 states, three territories, and the District of Columbia. Each member state or territory is represented by seven commissioners: the governor and six other individuals, typically legislators, chief state school officers, state and local school board members. The website provides state profiles and 50-state comparisons on a wide range of education issues, from accountability to vouchers.
- Brown Center on Education Policy at the Brookings Institution
The Law Library collects all Brookings Institution publications; check GULLiver catalog for print versions. This site provides a subject arrangement of Brookings' publications on education. Topics included are: education equality, education finance, education research, education statistics, elementary and secondary education (K-12), higher education, school choice, teachers, testing and assessments.
- Education Policy Center (The Urban Institute)
Publications by the Education Policy Center in pdf and html formats are available on this website.
- National Center for the Study of Privatization in Education (Teachers College, Columbia University)
"The Center provides independent, non-partisan information on and analysis of privatization in education." Resources include coverage of current events, an archived list of topics, policy breifings, and a collection of working papers, all available in full-text.
- Public Agenda
A New York-based nonprofit and nonpartisan organization researching and compiling opinion surveys on a wide range of issues, including education.
School Reform Organizations
- Center on Education Policy
The Center on Education Policy, based out of George Washington University, advocates for public education and for more effective public schools. The website includes the full-text of reports published by the Center, arranged by topic.
- Center for Education Reform
The Center's purpose is "to improve the accuracy and quality of discourse and decisions about education reform, leading to fundamental policy changes that make a difference long after news and election cycles have ended."
- Home School Legal Defense Association
"Home School Legal Defense Association is a non-profit advocacy organization established to defend and advance the constitutional rights of parents to direct the education of their children and to protect family freedom."
Coalitions and Associations
- American Association of School Administrators (AASA)
- Council of the Great City Schools
The Council "works to promote urban education through legislation, research, media relations, instruction, management, technology, and other special projects designed to improve the quality of urban education." Reports and data compiled by the Council are available on the website.
- National Association of College and University Attorneys
The website provides legal information for college and university attorneys.
- National Education Association
NEA is a professional association representing 3.2 million members working at every level of education, from pre-school to university graduate programs. The website provides general information about the association and information on recently proposed legislation and policies.
- National School Boards Association (NSBA)
The National School Boards Association is a not-for-profit Federation of state associations of school boards across the United States. Their mission is "to foster excellence and equity in public education through school board leadership. [They] achieve that mission by representing the school board perspective before federal government agencies and with national organizations that affect education, and by providing vital information and services to state associations of school boards and local school boards throughout the nation." The website is rich in contents including NSBA publications and research guides covering issues that are of concerns to the NSBA - advocacy & legislation, school governance, school board policies, education technology, and school law. Some contents are available only to members.
- Public Education Network
The Network is "a national association of local education funds (LEFs) and individuals working to advance public school reform in low-income communities across our country." The website provides access to its publications and links to other organizations with an interest in education-related issues.