Guides: Customs Law Research Guide: Treatises, Practice Guides & Handbooks

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

In-Depth Resources on Customs Law & Practice

The resources described on this page offers in-depth coverage of customs law topics. Treatises are scholarly works that provide comprehensive coverage of a single, broad subject. Practice guides and handbooks are more practitioner-oriented and often focus on narrower topics within the broader subject of customs law.

Handbooks & Practice Guides

The Complete UCP: Uniform Customs and Practice for Documentary Credits: Texts, Rules and History 1920-2007
Call Number: INTL K1060.8 .T397 2008
Current and prior editions of the rules on the issuance and use of letters of credit, which have been compiled and standardized by the International Chamber of Commerce, along with commentary.
Customs Modernization Handbook
Call Number: HJ7390 .C86 2005
This World Bank Publication provides a detailed analysis of successful customs modernization reforms enacted in eight jurisdictions.
A Handbook on the WTO Customs Valuation Agreement
Call Number: INTL K4640.A66 R67 2010
Covers methods of valuation as well as provisions on enforcement, implementation, and dispute settlement. Includes specific examples that illustrate and explain the interpretive decisions of national and international customs bodies.
Recognition and Regulation of Safeguard Measures under GATT/WTO
Call Number: INTL K4600 .R35 2011
Examines the safeguard measures for agricultural products and textiles set forth in WTO agreements, as well as special safeguard measures for developing countries, such as China. Includes discussion of relevant WTO case law.
Rules of Origin in International Trade
Call Number: INTL K4640.O74 I53 2009
Discusses the negotiation of non-preferential rules of origin under the WTO agreement as well as preferential rules of origin under both unilateral trade instruments and free trade agreements.
Transfer Pricing & Customs Valuation: Two Worlds to Tax as One
Call Number: INTL K4640.A66 T73 2009
Compares valuation for transfer pricing purposes with valuation for customs law. Country chapters describe national customs legislation and valuation methods, as well as case studies, to facilitate comparisons between jurisdictions.
User's Handbook for Documentary Credits Under UCP 600
Call Number: INTL K1060.8 .B35 2008
Provides step-by-step guidance on using documentary credits to facilitate trade in goods. Includes diagrams and charts.
The WTO and Reciprocal Preferential Trading Agreements
Call Number: HF1721 .W92 2007
Leading scholars examine the question of whether regionalism and preferential trading agreements undermine the multilateral system of trade negotiation.

Treatises & Commentaries

The World Trade Organization
Call Number: INTL K4610.A31994 M38 2015
This comprehensive examination of the multilateral trading system administered by the WTO includes chapters on tariffs and customs rules and on export measures and controls.
WTO Trade in Goods
Call Number: INTL K4609.5 .W79 2011
Provides article-by-article commentary on the 1994 General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT 1994), the core WTO agreement governing trade in goods, and on the accompanying multilateral agreements that govern pre-shipment inspection, rules of origin, and import licensing, among other topics.
Tariff Negotiations and Renegotiations Under the GATT and the WTO: Procedures and Practices
Call Number: INTL K4603 .H74 2001
This comprehensive history of tariff negotiations under the GATT and the WTO includes appendices that selectively reproduce key documents from the treaty negotiations.

Customs Law Research Guide

Contents

Key to Icons

In-Depth Resources on Customs Law & Practice

Handbooks & Practice Guides

Treatises & Commentaries