Guides: Legislative History Research Guide: Legislative News, Issues, &amp; Analysis

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Legislative News in Brief

National Journal
Weekly magazine on politics and government (1969 - present). NJ Daily and NJ Hotline (2012-present).
Note: Georgetown Law students, faculty, and staff may create a user account for customized features like alerts, saving articles, etc. See the catalog for details (linked above).
Roll Call
News and analysis of legislation.
The Hill
News publication with focus on lobbying and business.
Politico
News publication covering Congress and political campaigns, pending legislation, and lobbying efforts.

Legislative News, Issues, & Analysis

CQ Magazine (formerly CQ Weekly)
Provides nonpartisan news and analysis on the United States Congress. The service includes access to the full text of all articles published since 1983.
CQ Almanac
CQ Almanac is an annual yearbook of legislative activity. It compiles and synthesizes articles in CQ Weekly. (1945 - 2020)
Politico Pro
Direct access to the Politico website plus in-depth reporting by Politico’s experts. Includes DataPoint infographics and reporting on various specialized areas of regulatory reform and policy debate. In addition to federal/D.C. news, also aggregates political news of interest from California, New York, New Jersey, and Florida.
CQ Researcher
Publishes 12,000-word reports covering the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more on a weekly basis (1991-present).

Congress and the Nation by CQ Press
Call Number: KF49 .C65
Multi-volume reference set covering congressional trends, actions, and political and policy controversies. (1945-2012). Also available as an electronically through CQ Press Library/SAGE Knowledge (most recent is vol. XIV, published in 2020 and covering Congress from 2013-2016).

CQ Press Library
Collects together various CQ products and platforms, including reference resources (via links to SAGE Knowledge).

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

Congressional Research Service (CRS), the research arm of the Library of Congress, provides authoritative, objective, and nonpartisan research and analysis to committees and members of the House of Representatives and the Senate, regardless of party and affiliation. CRS produces new research as issues develop or are anticipated, and their reports are designed specifically to meet the needs of Congress. CRS research, while on a variety of topics, falls under five divisions: American Law; Domestic Social Policy; Foreign Affairs, Defense and Trade; Government and Finance; and Resources, Science, and Industry.

ProQuest Congressional
ProQuest Congressional provides CRS reports from 1916 to the present. It is one of the best, most comprehensive single sources for locating and searching through CRS Reports. (Use the Advanced Search page and uncheck everything except CRS Reports under Content Types on the left.)
CRS Reports on Congress.gov
Congress.gov provides public access to reports and other products created by Congressional Research Service. CRS routinely updates reports on their site, designed to reflect new developments and the needs of Congress. This is the official site for CRS Reports.
HeinOnline
HeinOnline provides scanned versions of older CRS Reports from 1999 to the present. CRS reports are listed alphabetically.
EveryCRSReport.com
EveryCRSReport.com provides free access to its collection of CRS reports and also includes archived reports from University of North Texas's CRS Report collection. You can Browse by Topic using the option below the search bar.
Lexis
Provides CRS reports as they are delivered from 2005 to the present. All reports link to the PDF version provided by CRS.

General News Databases

Lexis: News
Full text coverage of hundreds of national, local, and regional newspapers.
ProQuest News & Newspapers
Full text coverage of hundreds of national, local, and regional newspapers. Collects 24 different ProQuest news databases, including US Newsstream and Alt-PressWatch.
Alt-PressWatch‎ (1970 - current)
Alternative and independent press - magazines, journals and newspapers articles.
US Newsstream
One of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers in addition to many major national titles.
Nexis Uni
Note: If you are logged in to Lexis, this link may not work properly. Try accessing Nexis Uni in a separate browser from Lexis.
Factivia
Full text coverage of local and regional newspapers and newswires. Also includes business and market resources.

Alerts & Feeds

Guide to Alerts & Feeds (Golden Gate University)

Setting up Legislative News Email Alerts (Georgetown Law Library)
Provides instructions to assist members of the Georgetown Law Center community with setting up personal newsletter subscriptions and email alerts for two major federal legislative news services: National Journal and Congressional Quarterly.

ProQuest Congressional

Note that for many bills on ProQuest Congressional, you also get related news in the sidebar on the right:

Legislative History Research Guide

Contents