Virginia Resources

Virginia Supreme Court (formerly Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals)

Databases

• VA Supreme Court Cases from 1730 on Lexis or All Virginia Federal & State Cases, Combined on Lexis.
• Virginia Supreme Court Cases on Westlaw (1790 -) or Virginia State & Federal Cases on Westlaw.
• Virginia Supreme Court Cases on Bloomberg Law (1729 - ).

Websites

• Opinions Search – Supreme Court of Virginia and Court of Appeals of Virginia (Va. Jud. Sys.): Supreme Court of Virginia 1995 - ; Court of Appeals of Virginia published opinions from 1995 – , unpublished opinions 2002 - .
• Virginia Lawyers Weekly.

Print Reports Catalog Record

Virginia Reports (Va.) and Virginia Reports Annotated (Va.) (Official)

• All Supreme Court opinions are published. Each volume contains a List of Cases, Cases Cited, Constitution and Statutes Cited, Cases Explained, Criticized or Overruled, Appeals and Withdrawals of Execution Refused, Citation of Virginia Reports, Supreme Court Rules and an Index. The formal titles have changed throughout the history of the print version.
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2425 .A2 v.212 - (1972 - ): Currently updated at Law Library. Publication titled as Cases Decided in the Supreme Court of Virginia.

Historical Reports

Databases

• Virginia Historical Reports for Supreme Court on HeinOnline.
• Virginia Historical Reports including colonial period on HeinOnline.
• LLMC Digital: Judicial: Filter first by State, then by Category: Judicial. Includes historical reports for supreme court and during colonial period.

Website

• Virginia Historical Reports on Caselaw Access Project: Includes Va. (1779-2004).

Print Reports Catalog Records

Cases Decided in the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia (Va.)

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2445 .A2, v. 111 - 211 (1911 - 1971).
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2445 .A2 v. 109 - 110 (1909 - 1910).
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2445 .A2 v. 91 - 108 (1895 - 1908).

Reports of Cases Decided in the Supreme Court of Appeals of Virginia (Va.)

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2445 .A2, v. 75 - 90 (1882 - 1895).

Virginia Reports, Jefferson - 22 Gratton, 1730-1880

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2445 .A2, v. 1 - 74 (1730 - 1880).

Virginia Court of Appeals

Databases

• VA Court of Appeals Cases from 1985 on Lexis or All Virginia Federal & State Cases, Combined on Lexis.
• Virginia Court of Appeals Cases on Westlaw (1985 - ; reported and unreported cases) or Virginia State & Federal Cases on Westlaw.
• Court of Appeals Decisions on Bloomberg Law (1985 - ; select unpublished decisions from 2005) or All Virginia State Cases on Bloomberg Law.

Websites

• Opinions Search – Supreme Court of Virginia and Court of Appeals of Virginia (Va. Jud. Sys.): Supreme Court of Virginia 1995 - ; Court of Appeals of Virginia published opinions from 1995 – , unpublished opinions 2002 - .
• Virginia Lawyers Weekly (1998 - ).
• Virginia Historical Reports on Caselaw Access Project: Includes Va. App. (1985-2017).

Print Reports Official Catalog Record

Virginia Court of Appeals Reports (Va. Ct. App.)

• Not all Court of Appeals opinions are published. Each volume contains a Table of Cases, Table of Cases Cited, Table of Statutes, Words and Phrases and a key number digest.
• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2448 .A2 v.1 - (1985 - ): Currently updated at Law Library.

Print Reports Unofficial

South Eastern Reporter (S.E. 2d)

Websites

• South Eastern Reporter, Second Series (S.E.2d) on Caselaw Access Project (1982-2019)
• South Eastern Reporter, Second Series (S.E.2d) on Court Listener

Catalog Record

• West's South Eastern Reporter. Second Series (S.E. 2d), Law Library Call Number: Closed Stacks South KF135 .S612 v. 361 - 717 (1988 - last updated in 2012 at Law Library).

Historical Reports

Databases

• Virginia Historical Reports for Supreme Court on HeinOnline.
• Virginia Historical Reports including colonial period on HeinOnline.
• LLMC Digital: Judicial: Filter first by State, then by Category: Judicial.

Websites

• Virginia Historical Reports on Caselaw Access Project

Print Reports Unofficial

South Eastern Reporter (S.E. and S.E. 2d)

Websites

• South Eastern Reporter, Second Series (S.E.2d) on Caselaw Access Project (1982-2019)
• South Eastern Reporter, Second Series (S.E.2d) on Court Listener
• South Eastern Reporter (S.E.) on Court Listener

Catalog Records

• South Eastern Reporter. Second Series (S.E. 2d), Law Library Call Number: Closed Stacks South KF135 .S612 v.1 -360 (1939 - 1988).
• The Southeastern Reporter (S.E.), Law Library Call Number: Closed Stacks South KF135 .S6 v.1-200 (1887 - 1939).

Virginia Circuit Courts

Databases

• VA Circuit Courts - Trial Orders on Lexis (earliest decision dated 1855) or All Virginia Federal & State Cases, Combined on Lexis.
• Virginia Trial Court Cases on Westlaw (1976 - ) or Virginia State & Federal Cases on Westlaw.
• Virginia Circuit Court on Bloomberg Law (1957 - ) or All Virginia State Cases on Bloomberg Law.

Print Reports Unofficial 

• There is no official reporter for Circuit Court Opinions.

Website

• Virginia Circuit Court Opinions (Va. Circ.) on Caselaw Access Project (1856-2016)

Catalog Record

• Virginia Circuit Court Opinions, Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2451 .V57 v.1 - (1985 - ): Currently updated at Law Library. Selected opinions. Each volume contains a Subject listing, a Table of Cases, Table of Constitution, Statutes and Rules Cited.

Court Opinion Finding Aids Catalog Records

Virginia and West Virginia Digest: Covering Cases from State and Federal Courts

• Law Library Call Number: State 1st Floor KFV2457 .V5 v.1 - (2002) - : Law Library retains current volumes only.

West's South Eastern Digest, 2d

• S.E. Dig. 2d on Lib. of Cong. Catalog.

Docket Search

• Case Status and Information (Virginia's Judicial System): Includes the case information for Supreme Court of Virginia, Court of Appeals of Virginia, as well as criminal and traffic case information in general district courts and select circuit courts.

Records & Briefs

• Some Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals historical records & briefs are available for on-site viewing at Univ. of Richmond's Muse Law Library.

Dockets

• Some state court dockets may be found in:
  • Lexis: Dockets.
  •  Westlaw: Dockets: Search Coverage Status by Court or Dockets Index to determine coverage for Georgetown Law accounts. Search Dockets and Court Wire to determine which court materials are covered by the two Westlaw services. Georgetown Law does not have access to Court Wire, but does to Court Wire Alert Archive.
  • Bloomberg Law Docket Search: Search Dockets Coverages & Outages for coverage. Docket coverage does not mean, however, that all filings within the coverage dates are held by Bloomberg Law. Also, review our Law Library's FAQ on fees and Bloomberg Law's Docket Search.
• Try searching for dockets on the court's web site. Conduct a web search for the court's web site, e-filing, and/or docket search system. 

Court Records & Documents

• CourtLink and  Briefs, Pleadings and Motions may be found on Lexis.
• Some Briefs and Trial Court Documents may be available on Westlaw.
• To locate state court materials not available within Westlaw, Lexis or Bloomberg Law, review Dockets & Court Documents page in our Briefs, Oral Arguments and Other Court Documents Research Guide.
• Some state appellate courts may make recordings of oral arguments and hearings available on their web sites.
• The Law Library's ILL Services, a library-to-library resource sharing service, does not order court materials from a court's clerk. Please contact the court directly for copies.

May be found in Lexis' Court Rules and Westlaw's Statutes & Court Rules. Court rules may also be found within the court's web site.

• Check the Statistics section in the State Legal Research: General guide.
• Typically published in the court's administrative office annual reports found on the court's website.