Journal articles are a good way to obtain background information, locate a citation or even the text of a foreign law. Westlaw and Lexis provide excellent coverage of U.S. law reviews, but you should consider expanding your research to include foreign journals and indexes for more comprehensive and global coverage. For detailed information on all our journal databases and how to search them, see our Using Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research guide.
If you already have an article citation, but need to locate it in electronic format, just search thejournal title (not article title) in the online catalog. The results will provide information on both print and electronic availability.
- Academic Search Premier (Georgetown Only)
International environmental research can be interdisciplinary and this is a great resource for non-legal academic literature. Provides full text for over 4,600 publications on social sciences, humanities, education, and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. Coverage: 1975 ‹ present.
- Cambridge University Press (Georgetown Only)
Full text access to legal and other journals published by Cambridge University Press. Search by title, abstract, or by full text.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (Georgetown Law Only)
This database is an index and doesn't include the full text. However, it is the best source for locating foreign law journal articles. Search in English, but results will include articles in many languages besides English. You can then locate the full text by searching for the journal title in the library catalog.
- Oxford University Press (Georgetown Only)
Online access to journals covering legal, regional affairs, social sciences, and other subjects. Search by title, abstract, or by full text.
- Kluwer Law International Journals (Georgetown Only)
Also known as KLI Journals Online. Somewhat business-related, but covers EU developments. Note: the Library does not subscribe to all titles that are listed on the Kluwer web site.