Intellectual Property Treatises

Copyright law examples and explanations are provided in this four-part work. It includes an overview of copyright, copyrightable subject matter, ownership and transactions, statutory rights, and copyright litigation. Examples in the work are drawn from judicial opinions, news reports and student questions.

A four-part study aid, focusing on the foundations and practice of patent, trademark and copyright law. Part 1V gives limited treatment to global intellectual property. Table of cases included. Intellectual Property: Patents, Trademarks and Copyright in a Nutshell is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

This hornbook covers the major principles of intellectual property law, while also addressing emerging issues. It also deals with related topics, like false advertising and deceptive trade practices, and state law issues, including the misappropriation of intangibles and protection for the right of publicity. Intellectual Property: The Law of Copyrights, Patents, and Trademarks is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

This study guide provides an understanding of the creation of specific intellectual property rights as well as the determination of a commercial wrong. It discusses the historical inter-relationship between intellectual property law and the law of unfair competition. Intellectual Property and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

This popular study aid includes an introduction to trademark and unfair competition including discussions of distinctiveness, functionality, use, registration , geographic limits on trademark rights, confusion-based trademark liability theories , non-confusion-based claims, permissible uses of another's trademark, false advertising, the right of publicity, and more. Trademark and Unfair Competition in a Nutshell is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

A comprehensive study aid on copyright, which examines, among other issues, factual works, works made for hire, parody of fair use and software protection. Part 111 is a comparative analysis of copyright, patent and trademark law. Includes a fairly comprehensive overview of international copyright as well as tables of cases and statutes.

The study aid covers recently decided Supreme Court cases, the Digital Millennium Copyright Act, as well as changes made in response to TRIPS. It also includes discussion of patents, trade secrets, copyright, trademarks and other intellectual property rights.

This study aid provides an introduction to the federal laws protecting registered trademarks and trade dress, as well as the broad array of federal and state unfair competition doctrines which protect unregistered trademarks and trade dress. Coverage includes the standards and procedures for obtaining federal registration, the rights and remedies available to owners of both registered and common law marks under federal and state law, and the full array of applicable defenses.

This multi-volume work is a respected treatise which examines the principles and tenets of patent law, as well as the rules concerning patentability. Among the issues discussed are statutory bars, adequate disclosure, double patenting and Patent and Trademark Office procedures. Also included is a glossary of patent terms. The format is looseleaf, with supplementation four times per year. Chisum on Patents is also available online via Lexis.