Legal Writing Treatises

Volokh's book has advice for choosing a paper topic, doing research, and writing academic papers as well as practical tips for getting the work published.

This treatise contains three major parts which focus on learning to read legal materials, learning to write legal documents and creating specific legal documents. Sample documents include an interoffice memo, a memo of points and authorities and an appellate brief. The appendices provide an overview of English sentence structure and formatting legal documents.

This treatise focuses on the court system, primary and secondary sources, then outlines the legal writing process. There are research assignments throughout the volume.

This book focuses on 10 principles of legal writing: clear writing, diction, tone, grammar, syntax, punctuation, capitalization, paragraph construction, organization & format. Each principle is then broken into easy to understand rules for legal writing.

Provides guidance on producing transactional documents, contracts, instruments, legislation, and regulations that solve existing problems and prevent future problems. The book provides both an overview of the drafting process as well as discussion of the mechanics of legal documents at the sentence, word, and punctuation level. It incorporates current and developing perspectives regarding subjects like plain English, legal typography, and document preparation in the 21st century. Legal Drafting in a Nutshell is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

The process of legal writing and analysis is presented in this book, which includes writing guidelines for office memoranda, client advice letters, and demand letters. There's even a section on how to write an exam answer. Sample memos, letters and briefs are in the appendices.

This coursebook outlines the process of legal writing and provides tip for the organization of the process. The focus is on using a rule to formulate the process.

This guide provides a condensed handbook for legal writers. A useful glossary of words commonly misused in legal writing is included in Chapter 5. The remainder of the book focuses on grammar, punctuation, client letters, persuasive writing and argumentative memoranda. Legal Writing and Analysis in a Nutshell (2025) is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.

This basic guidebook to legal writing focuses on the concepts of legal writing, elements of the office memorandum and briefs. Samples in the appendices of the book include a memorandum, the defendant's brief to the trial court, the plaintiff's brief to the trial court, trial court decision, and the appellant and appellee's brief.

Scholarly Writing guides students through a five-step process of constructing their legal research papers, from topic selection to finishing the final product.

This text is a thorough guide to the process of legal writing and includes exercises to develop writing with care.