From the Concise Hornbooks series, this study aid on property law is organized similarly to a typical law school property law curriculum. Each chapter begins with a summary, then briefly outlines the law in that particular topic area. Each chapter then addresses problems designed to help law students think about how the rules are applied in real life situations. The problems are followed by statements of applicable laws, then analyses of the issues raised by the problem. Principles of Property Law is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.
Call Number: Reading Room Study Aids KF570.Z9 .B47
This study aid, from the Nutshell series, outlines and explains major concepts in Real Property. The text is divided into three sections. Part One provides an overview of property interests by covering lost v. mislaid v. abandoned property, adverse possession, gifts, common law estates, future interests, landlord-tenant law, concurrent ownership, marital property rights, easements, profits, licenses, real covenants, and equitable servitudes. Part Two covers conveyancing, including real estate brokers, contracts of sale, deeds, recording, title insurance, and mortgages. Part Three covers a variety of property rights and liabilities, including airspace, water rights, the right to support, agreed boundaries, fixtures, trespass, nuisance, and land use regulation. Real Property in a Nutshell is also available online via West Academic Study Aids.
This overview of property law addresses both classic and contemporary topics covered in the first-year property course in a format designed to be accessible to students. It offers explanations of property law through textual treatment, with numerous examples, analytical discussion of key cases, and issues followed by hypotheticals, with an emphasis placed on disagreements among states about the applicable rules of property law, with explanations of the conflicting issues. Includes discussion of developments in the law of public accommodations and fair housing on protections against discrimination on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, and gender identity, as well as updates to federal regulatory guidance on fair housing law.
This study aid is designed to introduce the topic of possessory estates and future interests to the beginning Property student. To do so, it offers a basic introduction and overview before discussing examples and offering problems in the application of principles. The book also offers explanations to the offered problems.
A comprehensive aid designed for law students who are taking the standard first-year course on property. Provides coverage of all standard topics covered in the basic property course, including landlord-tenant law, adverse possession, rights in personal property, intellectual property, estates and future interests, cotenancies, marital property, sales transactions, mortgages, easements, covenants, servitudes, nuisances, eminent domain, zoning, takings, and other land use issues. In addition, the book analyzes newer issues in property law, such as rights in human body parts, current takings issues, judicial reactions to the Restatement (Third) of Property: servitudes, rights and duties of homeowners associations, and rights in personal names and likenesses.
This preeminent treatise (entitled Law of Real Property in its print version) is devoted to discussing topics in real property. Although it is primarily devoted to discussing decisions and developments in real property in the past forty years, it also offers background into the development of modern property law. It is divided into six parts - Part I, Introduction; Part II, Capacity to hold and deal with interests in land; Part III, Permissible interests in Land; Part IV, Relations between owners of permissible interests in land; Part V, Relations between owners of permissible interests in land and the community; and Part VI, Acquisition and transfer of interests in land. The work also includes a practice guide that offers practice tips for practitioners.
The Thompson treatise discusses in depth numerous issues in real property. It includes a table of cases by jurisdiction, table of statutes and index. It also provides a large section on the historic origins of modern American property law.
The treatise is designed to inform attorneys and other title examiners about laws and matters that affect title to land and the means to cure or respond to title problems. It includes an index, table of cases, and table of statutes.