Trademark Law Research Guide

Preeminent legal treatise covering trademark law including analyses of cases and statutes. Coverage includes registering trademarks; inter partes proceedings; appeals; and remedies. An index is also available.

Preeminent treatise on the law of trade secrets in the US. Includes analysis of traditional trade secret problems, such as those arising between owners of trade secrets and their employees, and also coverage of other legal issues, including criminal, administrative, antitrust and tax considerations.

Surveys trademark law in the United States and covers everything from trademark subject matter to trademark infringement; also includes forms and drafting guides. The index is available separately in Lexis as are the forms.

Covers federal and state trademark law. In addition to explanation and analysis, this contains trademark statutes of all 50 states, the text of the Lanham Trademark Act (as amended), and select trademark court opinions and decisions of the Trademark Trial and Appeal Board. Available on VitalLaw.

A multi-volume treatise that provides rules, commentary, and sample forms for the process of obtaining and protecting trademarks.

The TMEP provides trademark examining attorneys in the USPTO, trademark applicants, and attorneys and representatives for trademark applicants with a reference work on the current law, practices, and procedures relative to prosecution of applications to register marks in the USPTO. The TMEP contains guidelines for examining attorneys and materials in the nature of information and interpretation, and outlines the procedures that examining attorneys are required or authorized to follow in the examination of trademark applications. Archived editions available here. The TMEP is also available on Westlaw and Lexis.

A comprehensive resource on trademark law and tactics. Includes illustrative lists of cases on both sides of all major trademark issues, full-color illustrations of previously litigated marks, sample forms, step-by-step checklists, and statutory excerpts. Updated regularly.

This treatises specifically explores the multiple-factor test, including the key elements used by the courts to determine if likelihood of confusion exists. Has hundreds of real-world examples that help to spotlight the kinds of trademarks that are likely to be confused with established trademarks, and those that are not. Also includes practical strategies and tips and an appendix of color illustrations of marks from trade dress infringement cases. Updated with all relevant U.S. Court of Appeals decisions.

Analyzes the full range of dilution law - which received its first treatment by the U.S. Supreme Court in 2004 - including the Federal Trademark Dilution Act (FTDA), state antidilution laws, and international law. Includes discussions of case law under FTDA, analyzing the federal courts' narrow interpretation of the statute. Also examines the various relevant state laws in detail; describes the many differences between them; and discusses the case law analyzing state statutes, much of which developed before the FTDA was enacted.

Detailed, practical analysis of the full range of federal and state trademark infringement remedies. Geared towards providing trademark owners and their counsel guidance on effectively defending and protecting their brands and maintaining the value of trademarks. It covers all aspects of trademark rights, liabilities, and remedies, as well as the civil infringement remedies available in federal and state courts, including insight from expert practitioners.

Expert local insight into the major trademark law issues across multiple jurisdictions, covering: ownership and scope of trademarks, application for registration, appeal of failed applications, third-party opposition to registration, duration and maintenance of marks, assignment, markings, types of trademark enforcement proceedings, procedural format and timing, discovery, litigation costs, defences and remedies and appeals. Also available on Bloomberg Law

Corporate Counsel's Guide to Trademark Law provides a basic overview of trademark law and includes sample agreements.

Intellectual property legal news. Continues the BNA Patent, Trademark, and Copyright Law Journal (which can be found in print from 1973 - 2008).

Monthly reports on trademark law updates and news for attorneys.