Texas Resources

Databases

State Websites

Historical Reports

• Texas Historical Reports on HeinOnline
• LLMC Digital: Judicial: Filter first by State, then by Category: Judicial.
• Texas Historical Reports on Caselaw Access Project
• Regional Reports on Caselaw Access Project
  • South Western Reporter (S.W.) (1900-1927)
  • South Western Reporter, Second Series (S.W.2d) (1920-1999)
  • South Western Reporter, Third Series (S.W.3d) (1993-2019)
• Regional Reports on Court Listener
  • South Western Reporter (S.W.)
  • South Western Reporter, Second Series (S.W.2d)
  • South Western Reporter, Third Series (S.W.3d)

Texas Case Law Research Guides

• Researching Texas Law: Cases (Tex. A&M L. Libr.)
• Historical Texas Cases (Tex. St. Libr.)

Docket Search

• Texas Supreme Court Case & Document Search

Case Records

• Texas Supreme Court Electronic Briefs from 1999 (Tex. Jud.)
• Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Records, Texas Digital Archives (Tex. St. Libr.) (1892 - 2010).
• For print court record holdings, look at the Processed State and Local Records inventory at the Texas State Library & Archive Commission. Find entries for "Appeals, Texas Court of," "Supreme Court, Texas," and "Criminal Appeals, Texas Court of."

Texas Court Documents Research Guide

• Researching Texas Law: Court Documents (Tex. A&M L. Libr.)

Dockets

• Some state court dockets may be found in:
  • Lexis: Dockets.
  •  Westlaw: Dockets: Search Coverage Status by Court or Dockets Index to determine coverage for Georgetown Law accounts. Search Dockets and Court Wire to determine which court materials are covered by the two Westlaw services. Georgetown Law does not have access to Court Wire, but does to Court Wire Alert Archive.
  • Bloomberg Law Docket Search: Search Dockets Coverages & Outages for coverage. Docket coverage does not mean, however, that all filings within the coverage dates are held by Bloomberg Law. Also, review our Law Library's FAQ on fees and Bloomberg Law's Docket Search.
• Try searching for dockets on the court's web site. Conduct a web search for the court's web site, e-filing, and/or docket search system. 

Court Records & Documents

• CourtLink and  Briefs, Pleadings and Motions may be found on Lexis.
• Some Briefs and Trial Court Documents may be available on Westlaw.
• To locate state court materials not available within Westlaw, Lexis or Bloomberg Law, review Dockets & Court Documents page in our Briefs, Oral Arguments and Other Court Documents Research Guide.
• Some state appellate courts may make recordings of oral arguments and hearings available on their web sites.
• The Law Library's ILL Services, a library-to-library resource sharing service, does not order court materials from a court's clerk. Please contact the court directly for copies.

May be found in Lexis' Court Rules and Westlaw's Statutes & Court Rules. Court rules may also be found within the court's web site.

• Check the Statistics section in the State Legal Research: General guide.
• Typically published in the court's administrative office annual reports found on the court's website.