Guides: North Dakota Resources: Cases & Courts

Key to Icons

ND Cases on Westlaw Supreme Court of the Territory of Dakota: 1867 - 1889; Supreme Court: begins with 1889; Court of Appeals: begins with 1987; District Court of the Territory of Dakota: 1877 - 1889.
ND Cases on Lexis ND Appeals Court Cases from 1987; ND Supreme Court Cases from 1867.
ND Cases on Bloomberg Law Supreme Court of North Dakota 1867 to Current; Court of Appeals 1987 to Current.
North Dakota Supreme Court Decisions Coverage from 1971.
HeinOnline: North Dakota Historical Reports
LLMC Digital: North Dakota Historical Reports

North Dakota Supreme Court Briefs (N.D. Cts.), coverage from 1999 forward, search by topic, docket, party name, and attorney name.
North Dakota brief reports (North Dakota. Supreme Court), held by Univ. of North Dakota Law Library.

Some state court dockets may be found in:
- Westlaw: Dockets: See Coverage Status by Court or Dockets Index to determine coverage for Georgetown Law accounts. See Dockets and Court Wire to determine which court materials are covered by the two Westlaw services. Georgetown Law does not have access to Court Wire, but does to Court Wire Alert Archive.
- Lexis: Dockets.
- Bloomberg Law Docket Search: See Dockets Coverages & Outages for coverage. Docket coverage does not mean, however, that all filings within the coverage dates are held by Bloomberg Law. Also, see our Law Library's FAQ on fees and Bloomberg Law's Docket Search.
Try searching for dockets on the court's web site. The National Center for State Courts offers judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.

Some Briefs and Trial Court Documents may be available on Westlaw.
CourtLink and Briefs, Pleadings and Motions may be found on Lexis.
To locate state court materials not available within Westlaw, Lexis or Bloomberg Law, see Dockets & Court Documents page in our Briefs, Oral Arguments and Other Court Documents Research Guide.
Some state appellate courts may make recordings of oral arguments and hearings available on their web sites.
The Law Library's ILL Services, a library-to-library resource sharing service, does not order court materials from a court's clerk. Please contact the court directly for copies.