New Jersey Resources

Databases

State Website

Print Reports Catalog Record

• Reports of Cases Argued and Determined in the Supreme Court of New Jersey (New Jersey Reports), Call Number: STATE 1st FLR KFN1845 .A22 (last updated at Law Library in 2022)

Historical Reports

• New Jersey Historical Reports on HeinOnline
• LLMC Digital: Judicial: Filter first by State, then by Category: Judicial.
• New Jersey Historical Reports on Caselaw Access Project
• Regional Reports on Caselaw Access Project
  • Atlantic Reporter, Second Series (A.2d) (1942-2010)
  • West's Atlantic Reporter, Third Series (A.3d) (2004-2019)
• Regional Reports on Court Listener
  • Atlantic Reporter (A.)
  • Atlantic Reporter, Second Series (A.2d)
  • West's Atlantic Reporter, Third Series (A.3d)

Docket Search

• New Jersey Superior Court Dockets (by county) on Bloomberg Law
• Electronic Access to Court Records: Electronic Access Program ("EAP") (N.J. Cts.)
• ACMS Public Access (N.J. Cts.)

Research Guide

• New Jersey Law Research Guide: Cases, Opinions & Dockets (Rutgers L. Sch. Libr.)

Dockets

• Some state court dockets may be found in:
  • Lexis: Dockets.
  •  Westlaw: Dockets: Search Coverage Status by Court or Dockets Index to determine coverage for Georgetown Law accounts. Search Dockets and Court Wire to determine which court materials are covered by the two Westlaw services. Georgetown Law does not have access to Court Wire, but does to Court Wire Alert Archive.
  • Bloomberg Law Docket Search: Search Dockets Coverages & Outages for coverage. Docket coverage does not mean, however, that all filings within the coverage dates are held by Bloomberg Law. Also, review our Law Library's FAQ on fees and Bloomberg Law's Docket Search.
• Try searching for dockets on the court's web site. Conduct a web search for the court's web site, e-filing, and/or docket search system. 

Court Records & Documents

• CourtLink and  Briefs, Pleadings and Motions may be found on Lexis.
• Some Briefs and Trial Court Documents may be available on Westlaw.
• To locate state court materials not available within Westlaw, Lexis or Bloomberg Law, review Dockets & Court Documents page in our Briefs, Oral Arguments and Other Court Documents Research Guide.
• Some state appellate courts may make recordings of oral arguments and hearings available on their web sites.
• The Law Library's ILL Services, a library-to-library resource sharing service, does not order court materials from a court's clerk. Please contact the court directly for copies.

May be found in Lexis' Court Rules and Westlaw's Statutes & Court Rules. Court rules may also be found within the court's web site.

• Check the Statistics section in the State Legal Research: General guide.
• Typically published in the court's administrative office annual reports found on the court's website.