Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Mississippi Resources

This State Guide lists the major sources of law in Mississippi

Contents

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown only
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF
  • More Info (hover)
  • Preeminent Treatise
  • Study Aid

Legislative History

Resources

Research Guides

"For legislation that becomes part of the Mississippi Code, notes at the end of each code section indicate when the law was passed and amended by the Legislature. Each annual General Laws of Mississippi provides the actual text of legislation as passed. The House and Senate Journals (also published annually) usually denote the sponsors’ names, committees which considered the bill, and roll call votes. Legislative history is limited because committee reports, transcripts of hearings, and records of floor discussions are not published."

More on Legislative History

In Westlaw, see also state legislative historystatutes annotated - historicalbill trackingbill tracking historical, and proposed & enacted legislation.

In Lexis, full-text bills, advance legislative service, and legislative bill history may be found in Statutes and Legislation.

In Bloomberg Law, text of enacted legislation may be found through State Laws & Regulations.

LLMC Digital may contain digitized historical senate and house journals as well as historical state statutes and/or session laws (Online Services > Browse Collections > U.S. States and Territories > State Name > Legislative).

State Legislative Sourcebook (in print, Call Number: Reference Desk JK2495 .S689), though ceased in 2021, is a 50-state guide on legislative information resources. In addition to providing the location of a state's legislative documents, it also includes sources for tracking services, document mailing services and best live person initial contact.

National Conference of State Legislatures (NCSL) Research Tools: Legislation Databases and the Bill Information Service includes a 50 state bill tracking database which contains summaries and analysis of bills on a variety of issues. NCSL Research Tools additionally provide to members a Bill Information Service to search all state, Washington D.C. and territories legislation.