Georgetown Law Library
Search this Guide
This State Guide lists the major sources of law in Louisiana.
Statutes & Legislation
Regulations & Agencies
Cases & Courts
Key to Icons
More Info (hover)
Practice Series & Materials
There is no general legal encyclopedia available for Louisiana.
Louisiana Treatises on Lexis.
Louisiana Practice Series on Westlaw.
Practical Law Louisiana on Westlaw.
Louisiana Practice Materials Guide (Law Libr. of La.).
State Law Reviews & Bar Journals
Tulane Law Review
Tulane L. Rev. on HeinOnline
(Vols. 1 - , 1916 - )
Louisiana Law Review
La. L. Rev. on HeinOnline
(Vols. 1 - , 1938 - )
Loyola Law Review
Loy. L. Rev. on HeinOnline
(Vols. 1 - , 1941 - )
Louisiana Bar Journal
La. Bar J. on Westlaw
(1983 - )
La. Bar J. on lexis
(1995 - )
LA Law Reviews & Journals on Lexis
LA Law Reviews & Journals on Westlaw
HeinOnline Law Journal Library: Louisiana
Historical Legal Treatises & Materials in General
LLMC Digital: U.S. States & Territories
Includes historical primary sources, but secondary sources such as historical newspapers, periodicals, treatises, executive decisions and more.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources I & II, 1620-1970
Contains a searchable digitized archive of U.S. state and territories primary legal sources, including historical state codes, but also historical reports, forms and treatises.
HeinOnline Prestatehood Legal Materials
Provides brief overviews of state histories from colonization to statehood and identifies historical state codes, journals, digests, reports, surveys, and more.
More on Practice in General
Legal blogs about a state's laws may be found on
Justia's Blawg Directory
State Library of Louisiana
Law Library of Louisiana
Law Libraries in the State (Justia)
Louisiana State Bar Association
Louisiana Law and Legal Research (Law Libr. of La.)
Includes subject specific guides such as cemetery laws, pet laws in La., & pro se resources.
Louisiana Legal History (Law Libr. of La.)
Includes guides on the history of the Louisiana codes, historical criminal codes, colonial law in New Orleans, & histories of the state courts.
Statutes & Legislation >>
© Georgetown University Law Library. These guides may be used for educational purposes, as long as proper credit is given. These guides may not be sold. Any comments, suggestions, or requests to republish or adapt a guide should be submitted using the
Research Guides Comments form
. Proper credit includes the statement: Written by, or adapted from, Georgetown Law Library (current as of .....).
Aug 29, 2023 1:21 PM
Login to LibApps