Georgetown Law Library

Illinois Resources

This State Guide lists the major sources of law in Illinois.

Contents

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Ethics

Rules

Databases

ABA/Bloomberg Law Illinois Ethics Resources
Article VII. Illinois Rules of Professional Conduct and Article XI. Illinois Code of Judicial Conduct on Lexis: Found in IL - Illinois Local, State & Federal Court Rules: Illinois Supreme Court Rules.
Article VII. Illinois Rules of Professional Conduct and Article XI. Illinois Code of Judicial Conduct on Westlaw: Found in Illinois Statutes & Court Rules: Illinois Supreme Court Rules.

Websites

Opinions

Databases

Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct: Illinois Ethics Opinions on Bloomberg Law
Lawyers' Manual on Professional Conduct: Chicago Ethics Opinions on Bloomberg Law
Illinois Judges Association Judicial Ethics Opinions on Lexis (coverage from 1993)
Legal Ethics Opinions (coverage from 1980), Legal Disciplinary Opinions - Attorney Registration & Disciplinary Commission (coverage from 1994) & Judicial Ethics Opinions (coverage from 1993) on Westlaw: Found in Administrative Decisions & Guidance : Legal & Judicial Ethics & Disciplinary Opinions : Illinois Ethics & Discplinary Opinions.

Websites

ISBA Ethics Opinions (Ill. St. Bar Ass'n.) (coverage from 1980)
Opinions - IJA (Ill. Judges Ass'n)

More on Legal Ethics

Legal Ethics and Legal Profession Research Guide
by Daniel Donahue Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 3162 views this year

The Thomas Woodward Houghton 50 State Ethics Guide (Texas L. Sch. Libr.)
Contains links to free sources of rules of conducts and ethics opinions for each state.
National Reporter on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility on Lexis
Coverage 1990- 2009, but varies by state. No longer updated.