Florida Resources

Databases

State Websites

Historical Reports

• HeinOnline: Florida Historical Reports
• LLMC Digital: Florida Historical Reports
• Caselaw Access Project: Florida Historical Reports
• Caselaw Access Project: Historical Regional Reports
  • Southern Reporter (So.) (1924-1941)
  • Southern Reporter, Second Series (So.2d) (1923-2009)
  • Southern Reporter, Third Series (2000-2019) (So.3d)

Docket Search

• Online Public Docket (Fla. Cts.)

Case Briefs & Records

• Petitions, Briefs, and Referee Reports filed prior to February 1, 2015 (Fla. Sup. Ct.)
• Briefs, petitions, referee reports, and dispositional orders filed on or after February 1, 2015 (Fla. Cts.)

Research Guides

• Florida Legal Research Overview: Case Law (Fla. St. U. L. Libr.)
• Free Legal Research: Florida Case Law (St. Petersburg C. Libr.)
• Florida - Electronic Filing Guide (Fla. St. U. L. Libr.)

Dockets

• Some state court dockets may be found in:
  • Lexis: Dockets.
  •  Westlaw: Dockets: Search Coverage Status by Court or Dockets Index to determine coverage for Georgetown Law accounts. Search Dockets and Court Wire to determine which court materials are covered by the two Westlaw services. Georgetown Law does not have access to Court Wire, but does to Court Wire Alert Archive.
  • Bloomberg Law Docket Search: Search Dockets Coverages & Outages for coverage. Docket coverage does not mean, however, that all filings within the coverage dates are held by Bloomberg Law. Also, review our Law Library's FAQ on fees and Bloomberg Law's Docket Search.
• Try searching for dockets on the court's web site. The National Center for State Courts offers judicial branch links for each state, focusing on the administrative office of the courts, the court of last resort, any intermediate appellate courts, and each trial court level.

Court Records & Documents

• CourtLink and  Briefs, Pleadings and Motions may be found on Lexis.
• Some Briefs and Trial Court Documents may be available on Westlaw.
• To locate state court materials not available within Westlaw, Lexis or Bloomberg Law, review Dockets & Court Documents page in our Briefs, Oral Arguments and Other Court Documents Research Guide.
• Some state appellate courts may make recordings of oral arguments and hearings available on their web sites.
• The Law Library's ILL Services, a library-to-library resource sharing service, does not order court materials from a court's clerk. Please contact the court directly for copies.

May be found in Lexis' Court Rules and Westlaw's Statutes & Court Rules. Court rules may also be found within the court's web site.

May be found on the court's website, published in the court's administrative office annual reports.

The Florida Courts published a comparative report, State Court Systems Profiles (2010), where each state's court system hierarchy, number of judges, terms of office, governance and funding are summarized.