Georgetown Law Library

Alabama Resources

This State Guide lists the major sources of law in this state.

Contents

Key to Icons

Georgetown only
On Westlaw
On Lexis
On Bloomberg
PDF
More Info (hover)
Preeminent Treatise
Study Aid

Ethics

Rules

Databases

ABA/Bloomberg Law Alabama Ethics Resources
Rules of Professional Conduct & Canons of Judicial Ethics on Lexis: Found in AL - Alabama State & Federal Court Rules.
Rules of Professional Conduct & Canons of Judicial Ethics on Westlaw: Found in Alabama Statutes & Court Rules.

Websites

Opinions

Databases

Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct: Alabama Ethics Opinions on Bloomberg Law (coverage from 85-108).
Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct: Birmingham Bar Assoc. Opinions on Bloomberg Law
Lawyer's Manual on Professional Conduct: Mobile Bar Assoc. Opinions on Bloomberg Law
Alabama Judicial Ethics Opinions on Westlaw: Found in Alabama Administrative Decisions & Guidance (coverage from 1976).

Websites

Alabama State Bar Ethics Opinions (coverage from 1981).
Advisory Opinions (Ala. Jud. Inquiry Comm'n) (coverage from 1997).

More on Legal Ethics in General

Legal Ethics and Legal Profession Research Guide
by Daniel Donahue Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 3162 views this year

The Thomas Woodward Houghton 50 State Ethics Guide (Texas L. Sch. Libr.)
Contains links to free sources of rules of conducts and ethics opinions for each state.
National Reporter on Legal Ethics and Professional Responsibility on Lexis
Coverage 1990- 2009, but varies by state. No longer updated.