Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Student Resources for Fall 2020

For new and returning students at Georgetown Law, including JD, LLM, and transfer students

Contents

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown only
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF
  • More Info (hover)
  • Preeminent Treatise
  • Study Aid

Welcome to Fall 2020!

We can't wait to help you with using library services. We are here to help you get ready for class, find books and articles, and conduct research for your papers.  First and foremost - check this page often!  We will be modifying services throughout the fall semester as conditions and guidance evolve. We're here to help, so please ask if you have any questions!

  • Circulation: lawcirc@georgetown.edu; 202.662.9131
  • Reference - U.S. Law: lawlibref@georgetown.edu; 202.662.9140
  • Reference - Foreign and International Law: lawintlref@georgetown.edu; 202.662.4195

If you are a law student from a different school, an Alum, a Public Patron Program member, or a Friend of the Library, please visit our FAQs.

Class Preparation

Running time: 3:32 minutes

Created/updated: November 2020
Last reviewed: November 2020

Study Aids 

West Academic Study Aids:

The Law Library has subscribed to the West Academic Study Aids platform for the 2020-2021 academic year. The West Academic study aids platform includes Nutshells, Concepts & Insights, the Law Stories series, Hornbooks, Gilbert Law Summaries, Sum & Substance, and several others.

There are two ways to access this platform:

  • Option 1 – Go to West Academic through the Law Library’s catalog. You will be prompted to sign-in with your Georgetown NetID and password. If you would like to take notes, highlight, and download titles for offline access, you will need to sign-in using a West Academic account (Option 2).
  • Option 2 – Login with a West Academic account. To create or use an existing West Academic account, please do the following:
    • Go to West Academic.

    • Click ‘Create an Account’ in the upper right-hand corner and follow the prompts. Be sure to verify your Georgetown email address from the confirmation email that West Academic sends to you.  OR  If you already have a West Academic account, click ‘Sign-in’ and verify your Georgetown email address.

Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library:

The Law Library has subscribed to the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library until June 30, 2021. This collection includes titles such as Casenote Legal Briefs, the Emanuel aids, and Examples and Explanations. To access, go to the Wolters Kluwer Online Study Aid Library through the Law Library’s catalog

Once you sign-in with your Georgetown NetID and password, you will then be able to use the study aids on this platform without creating a personal account. However, if you want to use additional features like bookmarks, notes, and highlights, you will need to create a personal account to unlock these features. Click 'Register' to create a personal account. If you already have a personal account, click 'Login.'

Course Reserves & Casebook Reserves

The Law Library is not circulating course reserves or casebook reserves at this time. For information on how to purchase print or electronic casebooks at a discount, see our FAQs.

Past Exams

The Law Library maintains an electronic collection of past Law Center exams. Exams from 1998 to present are available online (NetID required). 

​CALI Lessons 

CALI provides hundreds of interactive legal instructional lessons on topics from contracts to torts. New students will receive an email from the Law Library during Orientation with a registration code. Students who do not receive a code or need a new one should go to CALI Lessons for Students.

Course Materials

Course Resources

To find the books your professors have adopted for your classes, check the Law Center's Curriculum Guide. Search for a course, and click the "Buy Books" button. This will send you to the Georgetown Law Bookstore website, where you can view the book(s) your professor has selected. You can buy the books directly from that site, or you can use the ISBN listed to find the exact same edition at any online bookseller or ebook vendor. For information on how to purchase print or electronic casebooks at a discount, see the Law Library's FAQs.

Class Assignments

Course Management Systems

Research Help

Reference Desk

Ask a librarian for help with your research questions by Chatting with a Librarian, emailing the Reference Desk, or calling the Reference Desk (202.662.9140). During the academic year, our hours are Monday - Thursday 9:00am to 8:00pm; Friday 9:00am to 5:00pm; and Saturday - Sunday 12:00pm to 6:00pm.

For foreign and international law assistance, ask a librarian by emailing the Foreign and International Law department or calling (202.662.4195).

Research Consultations

Schedule an individual research consultation with a librarian for help with your papers or other research projects via Zoom or phone. A librarian will contact you within two business days of receiving your request to set up a meeting and will prepare for your topic. Meetings usually take place within a week and last 30-60 minutes. 

Research Guides

Start with our research guides to identify resources by topic or jurisdiction.

New researchers of U.S. law may be interested in our Introduction to U.S. Legal Research guide and Bluebook guide.

Treatise Finders

Find a list of treatises organized by legal subject area.

Databases

See a list of frequently used databases or search the full collection of databases available to you through the Law Library. For database-related issues, refer to our guide to troubleshooting database connection problems and send us details of problems you cannot resolve.

Research - Find Books & Articles

Check the Law Library's catalog for electronic books and journals.  We have a very robust collection of ebooks and electronic articles. 

If you are local and need one of our print books, see the Print Materials - Pick Up & Drop Off section below. For print books from local academic libraries that you can pick up at the Law Library, see the Print Materials from Other Libraries section below. If you are out of the area or unable to pick up, we may be able to purchase an electronic version for you.  See the eBook - How to Request section below for more details.  For articles and book chapters not available online, use our Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy or scan.  Please note that we are not currently borrowing print books via Interlibrary Loan.

Journal students who are source collecting should consult our ILL for Journal Staff Guide for searching tips during this period.

Contact us via Chat with a Librarianemail the Reference Desk, or call the Reference Desk (202.662.9140) for assistance finding materials.

eBooks - How to Request Purchase

First, verify that we don't already have an ebook version by searching for the book title in the Law Library's catalog and in our main campus Lauinger Library's catalog.  If you are local, you can request and pick up our print books at the Law Library or pick up print books from local academic libraries at the Law Library.  You should also check the thousands of free ebooks available at the Internet Archive's Open Library and Books to Borrow collection.

If you can't find an ebook version at any of those places, we can look into purchasing an ebook version for the collection.  To request an ebook purchase, use this eBook purchase request form. Due to cost and availability, the Law Library is not able to provide electronic versions of casebooks.

Print Materials From Our Law Library - Pick Up & Drop Off

Students can pick up materials on Tuesdays and Fridays from 10:00am to 2:00pm during the fall semester through Friday, December 18. To request Law Library print materials, please use the Request for In-Person Pickup option in the Law Library's catalog after signing into your library account. We will work on your request and send you an email when the item is ready for pickup.  Please don't come to the Law Library for a Tuesday or Friday pickup until you receive an email that the item is ready.

When coming to pick up items, please come to the sidewalk outside of our loading dock on the corner of New Jersey Avenue and G Street NW and call 202.662.9131. A staff member will bring your books out to the sidewalk and place them on the ground for you to pick up.

For now, this service is limited to Law Library print books. No copies or scans. For a copy of a print article or book chapter, first check the Law Library's catalog to see if we have an electronic copy. If not, use our Interlibrary Loan service to request a copy or scan. We will try our best to obtain from sources outside the Law Library. If you are out of the area or unable to pick up, we may be able to purchase an electronic version for you.  See the eBook - How to Request section for more details.  

Do you need to return something?  You can drop off materials from the Law Library or from another library (such as Interlibrary Loan, WRLC, or main campus Lauinger Library) in the gray drop box just located outside of the campus gates by the EBW Law Library next to our loading dock on the corner of New Jersey Avenue and G. Street.

If you are unable to return books from the Law Library, don’t worry! We will continue to extend loan return dates for Law Library books, and Law Library fines have been suspended. Please contact the Circulation Desk if you have books checked out from another library (such as Interlibrary Loan, WRLC, or main campus Lauinger Library), and we will work with you to arrange for the return of these materials. Note that we cannot manage or change fines from other libraries.

For questions, please contact the Circulation Desk.  Email is best due to limited on-site staffing, but you can try calling (202.662.9131).

 

Print Materials From Other Libraries

From Local DC Academic Libraries (known as Washington Research Library Consortium - WRLC)

You can request materials from area libraries by using the Request from a Local Academic Library option in the Law Library's catalog after signing into your library account. Fill out the form for the book to be delivered to the Law Library.  Wait until you receive an email saying that the item is ready for pickup before coming to the Law Library for a Tuesday or Friday pickup from 10:00am to 2:00pm.  Please don't come to the Law Library until you receive an email that the item is ready.

When coming to pick up items, please come to the sidewalk outside of our loading dock on the corner of New Jersey Avenue and G Street NW and call 202.662.9131. A staff member will bring your books out to the sidewalk and place them on the ground for you to pick up.

Delivery from local academic libraries happens only once per week, and we have limited on-site staffing at the Law Library.  This means that completing requests from local academic libraries will take longer than usual. If you are out of the area or unable to pick up, we may be able to purchase an electronic version for you.  See the eBook - How to Request section for more details.  For copies or scans of articles and book chapters, use our Interlibrary Loan service. 

From Libraries Outside our Local Area  

Libraries are not loaning print books via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) at this time. You can use our Interlibrary Loan service to request scans or copies of chapters or articles that you are unable to find in electronic form through the Law Library's catalogWe will try our best to obtain from sources outside the Law Library. See our ILL Service During COVID-19 FAQs for complete information. For books we don't have available electronically in our collection, we may be able to purchase an electronic version for you.  See the eBook - How to Request section for more details.

Printers

While the EBW Law Library building is closed, students will not be able to access the printers located inside the building. This includes Georgetown University public printers, as well as LexisNexis printers.

When printing services on the Law Center campus resume, you can find more information on campus services for students from Information Systems Technology (IST).

Westlaw, Lexis & Bloomberg Law Access

New students will receive an email from the Law Library during Orientation with registration information for legal research platforms WestlawLexis, and Bloomberg Law. Please register immediately for all three services and always use your Georgetown email as the contact email.  First year J.D. students will need these before the first Legal Practice: Writing & Analysis class. This email from the Law Library will be sent to your Georgetown email address. If you do not see the email in your inbox or spam folder, please contact us via Chat with a Librarian or email the Reference Desk.

Returning students with questions about their WestlawLexis, and Bloomberg Law accounts should contact us via Chat with a Librarian or email the Reference Desk

Virtual Library Tour

Running time: 2:35 minutes

Created/updated: August 2020
Last reviewed: August 2020