Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

United Nations Research Guide

This guide will suggest background resources and tips on navigating United Nations documents.


The United Nations replaced the League of Nations in 1945. TheUnited Nations Charter was signed on June 26, 1945 at San Francisco (3 Bevans 1153, UN Yearbook). The mandate of the United Nations includes peace and security, economic and social development, human rights, decolonization and international law. It is composed of six principle organs : the General Assembly, the Security Council, the Economic and Social Council, the Trusteeship Council, the International Court of Justice, and the Secretariat. Currently there are 193 member nations.

Update History

Revised 2007 (aeb)
Updated March 2010 (LAS)
Revised March 2014 (hec)