Skip to main content
Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

In re Gault Research Portal

NJDC in re Gault Research Collection (NEJL 067)

The In re Gault Research Collection represents the effort by the National Juvenile Defender Center (Washington, DC) to assemble a collection documenting the history of due process in juvenile court in the United States, gathering the history of the juvenile defender community in one place. The NJDC collected the materials in a two year period between 2009 and 2010, and consists of materials that focus on the efforts of juvenile defenders and advocates on behalf of children in the justice system. Research materials in the collection were contributed by individuals and organizations from across the United States. The collection includes the in re Gault footnote project bibliography project, which compiled all available source documentation for the 1140 references to 530 statutes, cases, and secondary materials cited in the U.S. Supreme Court case. The collection also includes research materials, publicity and informational materials from juvenile defender organizations, and reports and training materials (gray literature) documenting the development of due process in juvenile court since Gault. The collection also includes digitized audio-visual materials.

Due to its nature as an artificial research collection, the finding aid includes both citations to materials that can be obtained at various libraries and archives, and descriptions of physical materials that are located at the NEJL.

Finding aid to the NJDC in re Gault Research Collection (NEJL 067) in Digital Georgetown