Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Treaty Research

This guide describes resources and methods for locating and updating treaties of the United States and other countries.

Unofficial Full-Text Sources for U.S. Treaties

It is also possible to retrieve the full texts of U.S. treaties and other international agreements from several unofficial, commercially published sources.  These unofficial sources are described in the table below.  Bear in mind that when citing a treaty, it is preferable to cite to an official source, rather than an unofficial source.

In addition, U.S. treaties and other international agreements are available in full-text on Lexis and Westlaw.  Both platforms assign their own in-house citation numbers to recent treaties and agreements.  However, you won't find Lexis and Westlaw treaty numbers in treaty indexes.  If you have a citation to an official source, such as T.I.A.S. or U.S.T., you can use it to retrieve the full text of the treaty on Lexis and Westlaw.

Title and Description Citation Dates of Coverage Print/Microform Holdings Online Access
Hein's U.S. Treaties and Int'l Agreements Current Service (KAV Agreements)
Use in conjunction with Kavass's Current Treaty Index (described in this table).  Content is arranged by Kavass number (KAV).  Useful for accessing recent treaties and agreements, including un-ratified treaties, that have not yet been assigned an official T.I.A.S. citation number.
Hein's KAV no. xxxx 1984-present KZ235.5 .H45 Micro
 
HeinOnline
International Legal Materials
This series selectively publishes the full texts of U.S. treaties and executive agreements, as well as the texts of some treaties to which the U.S. is not a party, along with other types of materials (court decisions issued by international tribunals, reports issued by international organizations, etc.).
vol. no. I.L.M. xxxx 1962-present
 
KZ64 .I58 (Current issues on reserve.)

HeinOnline

JSTOR

Lexis

Westlaw 1980-present

Treaties and Other International Agreements of the U.S. (Bevans)
This compilation includes U.S. treaties and agreements that entered into force prior to 1950.  Usually referred to as "Bevans" for the name of its editor.  Volumes 1-4:  multilateral treaties and agreements arranged by date of signature.  Volumes 5-12:  bilateral treaties and agreements arranged alphabetically by treaty partner.  Volume 13:  cumulative country and subject indexes.  Supersedes two prior compilations:  Malloy (1778-1937) and Miller (1778-1863).  (Note that The Bluebook classifies Bevans as an unofficial source for citation purposes, even though it was published by the Government Printing Office.)
vol. no. Bevans xxxx

 
1778-1949 KZ236 .A3 HeinOnline

LLMC Digital

Law Library of Congress
U.S. Treaties on Lexis
To retrieve a treaty text by citation to an official source, select "U.S. Treaties on Lexis" as the search filter.  Then enter the citation number in the search box.
LEXIS xxxx 1778-present None Lexis
U.S. Treaties on Westlaw
To retrieve a treaty text by citation to an official source, enter the citation number in the basic search box.  To search by party name (treaty partner), keyword or date, use the Advanced Search template (link to the right of the basic search box).
year WL xxxx 1778-present None Westlaw