Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Scottish Legal History Research Guide

This research guide in Scottish legal history covers the feudal period through 1901.

Contents

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown only
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF
  • More Info (hover)
  • Preeminent Treatise
  • Study Aid

Courts and Court Records

6.1 BARON BAILLIE COURT

  • Brown, Andrew. Judicial Proceedings Before the Baron Bailie Courts : With the Style of Summons's [sic], &c., Usually Practised, and Observations in Law Connected Therewith. Muthill: Pitkellony Private Press, 1816. KDC 865.B76 1816 (SPECL). Also available through the Making of Modern Law database.
  • Stitchill Baron Court. Records of the Baron Court of Stitchill, 1655-1807. Edinburgh: T. & A. Constable, 1905. This is also available through the Making of Modern Law database.

6.2 COURT OF SESSION

  • Deas, George & Anderson, James. Cases Decided in the Court of Session, Jury Court, and High Court of Justiciary, from March 13 [1829] to [September 8, 1832]. Edinburgh: Stirling & Kenney, 1829-33.KDC116.D43 1829 Quarto (SPECL). This is a multi-volume set.
  • Gibson, Alexander. The Decisions of the Lords of Council and Session, in Most Cases of Importance, Debated and Brought Before Them; From July 1621 to July 1642. Edinburgh: Stewart & Tennent, 1690.KDC113.G44 1690 Folio (SPECL)
  • Dalrymple, Hew. Decisions of the Court of Session: From [1698-1718] Edinburgh: Gavin Hamilton & John Balfour, 1758. KDC113.D35 1758 Nomn. Repts. (SPECL)
  • Hume, David. Decisions of the Court of Session, 1781-1822, in the Form of a Dictionary. KDC113 1781.H8 1839 Nomn. (SPECL)
  • Kames, Henry Home. The Decisions of the Court of Session from its Institution Till the Year 1764. London: E. and C. Dilly, 1774. Shelf 00642 (SPECL). Five-volume work.
  • MacFarlane, Robert. The Practice of the Court of Session in Jury Causes. Edinburgh: Andrew Shortrede, 1837. This is available through the Making of Modern Law database. KDC844.M33 1837 Quarto(SPECL)
  • Morison, William Maxwell. The Decisions of the Court of Session from Its First Institution to the Present Time, Digested Under Proper Heads, in the Form of a Dictionary. Edinburgh: Bell & Bradfute, 1801-1808.KDC113.1.M6 1801 Folio. (SPECL). This is a multi-volume set.
  • Scotland. Court of Session. Cases Decided in the Court of Session. Edinburgh: Thomas Clark, 1834.KDC116.A2C3 1st ser (INT'L). This multi-volume set is also called First Series and covers the period 1821-1832.
  • Scotland. Court of Session. Cases Decided in the Court of Session. Edinburgh: Thomas Clark, 1839-1847.KDC116.A2C3 2nd ser (INT'L. This multi-volume set is also called Second Series and coverage is from 1838-1848.

Lord Kames' 1774 Dictionary of Decisions of the Court of Session 
Lord Kames' 1774 Decisions of the Court of Session

6.3 HIGH COURT OF JUSTICIARY

  • Arnot, Hugo. A Collection and Abridgement of Celebrated Criminal Trials in Scotland from A.D. 1536, to 1784. Glasgow: A. Napier, 1812. KDC184.A76 1785 Electronic. This is also available through HeinOnline.
  • Dreghorn, John Maclaurin. Arguments, and Decisions in Remarkable Cases, Before the High Court of Justiciary, and Other Supreme Courts in Scotland. Edinburgh: J. Bell, 1774. KDC116.D74 1774 Quarto(SPECL)
  • Louthian, John. The Form of Process Before the Court of Justiciary in Scotland; Containing the Constitution of the Sovereign Criminal Court, and the Way and Manner of Their Procedure: Together With an Account of the Circuit Courts, the Way and Manner of Giving Up Dittays, and Judicial Proceedings Thereto Relating. Edinburgh: Robert Fleming & Company, 1732. KDC842.L68 1732 Octavo (SPECL)
  • Pitcairn, Robert. Ancient Criminal Trials in Scotland: Compiled from the Original Records. Edinburgh: Maitland Club, 1833. KDC116.P68 1833 (SPECL). 3 vols. in 7 parts.

6.4 HOUSE OF LORDS

  • Bell, Sydney Smith. Cases Decided in the House of Lords, on Appeal from the Courts of Scotland. 4 and 5 Victoriae, Session of Parliament 1842-1850. Edinburgh: William Blackwood & Sons, 1843-52.KDC116.B45 1843 Quarto (SPECL) This is a multi-volume set.
  • Craigie, John, et al. Reports of Cases Decided in the House of Lords, Upon Appeal from Scotland, From 1726-[1822]. Edinburgh: T. & T. Clark, 1849-56. KDC116.C37 1849 Quarto (SPECL). This is a multi-volume set.
  • Macqueen, John Fraser. Reports of Scotch Appeals and Writs of Error, Together with Peerage, Divorce and Practice Cases in the House of Lords [1847-1865]. Edinburgh: T. & T. Clark, 1855-1866. KDC116.M35 1855 Quarto (SPECL). This is a multi-volume set.
  • Paterson, James. Reports of Scotch Appeals in the House of Lords, A.D. 1851 to 1873, with Tables of All the Cases Cited, Notes, and Copious Index. Edinburgh: T. & T. Clark, 1879. KDC116.P29 1879 Two volumes.

6.5 SHERIFF COURT

  • Acts of Parliament Relating to Sheriff Court Practice: With Illustrations from Decisions of the Supreme Courts, and Occasional Notes: Also An Appendix Containing Recent Statutes and Acts of Sederunt, Including the Act of Sederunt with Relative Forms Under the Employers and Workmen Act, 1875.K150.N46 Electronic. This is also available in microform.
  • Lees, John M. Sheriff Court Styles Arranged in Dictionary Form: With Notes and Authorities. Edinburgh: Bell & Bradfute, 1892. K150.N46 Electronic. This is also available in microform and through the Making of Modern Law database.
  • Lees, John M. A Handbook of Written and Oral Pleading in the Sheriff Court. Edinburgh: William Hodge, 1920. K150.N46 Electronic. Also available in microform and through the Making of Modern Law database.
  • Lewis, W. J. Synopsis of Sheriff Court Practice, Civil and Criminal. Edinburgh: Bell & Bradfute, 1887.K150.N46 Electronic. This is also available in microform and through the Making of Modern Law database.
  • Scots Law Times. Sheriff Court Reports. Edinburgh: W. Green & Son, Ltd., 1893. K23.C4 (INT'L). This is a multi-volume set.