Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Mexican Legal Research

This is a brief guide to researching Mexican Law.

Journal Articles

Periodical literature is a good way to obtain background information, locate the text of a foreign law, a citation, or locate information about a subject. Westlaw and Lexis provide excellent coverage of U.S. law reviews, but you should consider expanding your journal research to foreign journals and indexes for more comprehensive and global coverage. For information on other journal databases, see ourUsing Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research for a complete list.

In addition, see our guide on Locating Journal Articles: Foreign & International, as there are foreign and international law journals databases linked to, as another way to research this topic in the foreign and international law context.

If you already have a citation and would like to read the article, simply type the journal name as atitle search in the library catalog. The results will tell you if we have print, electronic, or both. Be sure to check coverage dates or volume numbers to determine if your particular volume or issue is available. If the library does not have the journal article, you may request the article throughinterlibrary loan and we will ask another library to make a photocopy.

Below are listed a few of the most commonly used resources for locating articles on Mexican law in the foreign and international law context.

  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP)
    A multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in approximately 490 legal journals published worldwide. Online access from 1985 to the present. Please note while this is not a full text database interlibrary loan can obtain many of the articles if a copy is not available at any of the Georgetown libraries. This is the best resource to search for foreign language legal journal articles.
  • Cambridge University Press Journals (Georgetown only)
    This full-text database offers both legal and non-legal journals published by Cambridge University. We suggest using advanced searching and you can limit by selecting "law" from the subject list. Titles includeCambridge Law JournalJournal of African LawWorld Trade ReviewLegal Theory, and much more.
  • Oxford University Press
    Full-text database of both legal and non-legal journals published by Oxford University. You can limit to a particular journal or to the subject law. Online access to many of the frequently-cited Oxford journals.

Selected Spanish-Language Periodicals (Mexican Imprints)

Below is a sampling of some journals, which focus on Mexican law. For back issues search in the library catalog using the title of the journal. Current editions of these journals are located at the Wolff circulation desk. Older editions are on the upper floor of the Wolff Library.

English-Language Periodicals Focusing on Mexican Law

  • Law and Business Review of the Americas available in print and available electronically
    • Westlaw LBUSRAM(1998- present )
    • Lexis [Legal > Secondary Legal > Law Reviews & Journals > Individual Law Reviews & Journals > J - L > Law and Business Review of the Americas] (1998 - present).
  • United States-Mexico Law Journal and in print