Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Mexican Legal Research

This is a brief guide to researching Mexican Law.

Statutes & Codes

When searching for codes keep in mind, like most of the world, the date format will be day, month (e.g. 5/6 is June 5th not May 6th).

  • World Legal Information Institute - Mexico (WorldLII)
    WorldLII also provides access legal materials, including selective legislation, from around the world
  • GLIN
    For best searching, use "More Search Options" and choose Mexico as the jurisdiction. Some full text available in Spanish, summaries in English.
  • state and federal legislation provided by the Universidad Nacional Autonoma de Mexico has (Spanish only).

Diario Oficial

The Diario Oficial de la Federación is similar to the U.S. Federal Register, but also contains all new federal legislation and legislation that applies to the Federal District and states. The Diario also contains important announcements, notices, decrees, resolutions, tenders, proposed rules and regulations, and draft and final standard issued by the Mexican government and its agencies.

The Wolff Library does not have the Diario in print, however it is available through several electronic sources. *Text in Spanish*

  • Dario Official provided by the Mexican Government
    There is also a brief history of the Dario. Click on the PDF symbol at the top of the page to automatically download the entire Dario for that day in PDF form. The materials coverage has indexed materials from 1917 to present and has PDFs of materials available for free for most current month.
  • Westlaw MX-DIARIO
    This database contains the Diario from July 1995 through current.
  • Lexis [Legal > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources > Mexico > Legislacion (Legislation) > MX - Diario Oficial de la Federacion
    Covers the Diario from June, 2003 through current.

Mexican Codes

As a civil law system, Mexican law is organized into codes. Spanish-language versions and English translations of several Mexican codes are available in print in the library. Below are a few of the most important codes. When searching for codes keep in mind, the date format will be day, month (e.g. 5/6 is June 5th not May 6th).

  • Federal Civil Code of Mexico INTL KGF404.32 .A52 2005
    Bilingual edition.
  • Federal Civil Code of Mexico: Translated into English with Introduction and Index INTL KGF404.32 .A52 2003
  • The Federal Civil Code of Mexico: Translated and updated by Jorge A. Vargas INTL KGF404.32 .A52 2005
  • Mexico Civil and Commercial Codes INTL KGF7611.A291928 .A52 1995.
    Includes Spanish text with English translation on opposing page.
  • Mexican civil code annotated INTL KGF404.32 .A52 2009
    This edition includes brief excerpts of relevant case law, in both English and Spanish, as well as the code in Spanish text with English translation on opposing page.
  • Mexican Civil Code INTL KGF7611.A291928 A531996
    Includes Spanish text with English translation on opposing page.
  • Mexican Commercial Code INTL KGF7611.A27 M49 1996.
    Includes Spanish text with English translation on opposing page.
  • Código Civil Federal INTL KGF6711.A291928 A624 2000 ( updated to 2009)
  • Código de Comercio, Comentado INTL KGF1054.31889 .C37 2003
  • Legislación Penal Mexicana INTL KGF5402.A27 A52 2000 (updated to 2009)
  • Lexis has the civil, commercial and penal code. *Text in Spanish*
    • Legal > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources > Mexico > Legislacion (Legislation) > Codigo Civil de Mexico- Mexican Civil Code
      Coverage from 1990's to Fall 2009.
    • Legal > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources > Mexico > Legislacion (Legislation) > Codigo de Comercio de Mexico - Mexican Commercial Code
      Coverage from 1990's to Fall 2009.
    • Legal > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources > Mexico > Legislacion (Legislation) >Codigo Penal de Mexico - Mexican Penal Code
      Coverage from Coverage from 1990's to Fall 2009.

Update History

Revised 4/13 (JZ)
Revised 6/10 (RAS)
Links 8/08 (RAS)
Revised 4/07 (AEB)