Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Mexican Legal Research

This is a brief guide to researching Mexican Law.

Books by Legal Subject

Below are some good starting points, but to locate more resources, search the online catalog using keywords to narrow your search results. For example <Mexico government > or <regulation Mexican>

Bankruptcy Law

Civil Procedure

Constitutional Law

Corporate, Commercial, Business

  • Commercial Code of Mexico: Selected Substantive Provisions KGF1054.31889 .A5213 2008
    These chosen provisions range from e-commerce to consignment within the commercial code. The section on bringing commercial lawsuits is omitted. English only text provide, this is an update to the 2003 version of this publication.
  • Commercial Laws of the World - Mexico also in print (updated to 2006)
    Accessed through Checkpoint this resource can be difficult to navigate. The following instructions are one way to search for Mexican materials. To search for materials chose "International" in the drop-down box under "Practice Area" then click on"+" next to "RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law" then click on "RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law -- Mexico". This database provides English translation of the code with text in red indicating the most recent amendments.
  • Doing business in Mexico available in print and through
    Lexis [Legal > Find Laws by Country or Region > Foreign Laws & Legal Sources > Mexico > Commentaries & Treatises > Lex Mundi's Guide to Doing Business in Mexico]
    This does not provided the text of the laws but rather a very broad introduction to such topics as mergers, employment and business entities.
  • Problemas Actuales del Derecho Empresarial Mexicano INTL KGF1295 .P76 2005
    An overview of legal and practical problems with economic ventures and development in Mexico. There are flow charts and bibliographies for further research at the end of the chapters.

Taxation

  • Taxation and Investment in Mexico INTL KGF4861 .T21 1994
    Organized by such tax topics as international, capital, income derived by non-residents, this gives a brief summary of the creation of the relevant law and gives detailed information and commentary about the laws. Note this not a word by word translation of the actual text of the law but rather information about how the laws are applied.
  • BNA Bloomberg Foreign Income Tax Management Portfolios. BNA publishes loose-leaf handbooks to the tax laws of many individual foreign countries.
  • International Bureau of Fiscal Documentation
    This database provides summaries and explanations of many countries' tax laws, including Mexico. It also has the primary legislation (in English translation) and selected cases involving tax law and tax treaties.
  • Tax Laws of the World - Mexico  also in print (updated to 2006)
    Accessed through Checkpoint this resource can be difficult to navigate. The following instructions are one way to search for Mexican materials. To search for materials chose "International" in the drop-down box under "Practice Area" then click on"+" next to "RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law" then click on
    "RIA Worldwide Tax & Commercial Law -- Mexico". This database provides English translation of the code with text in red indicating the most recent amendments.