Journal articles are a good way to obtain background information, locate the text of a foreign law, a citation, or locate information about a subject. Westlaw and Lexis provide excellent coverage of U.S. law reviews, but you should consider expanding your journal research to foreign journals and indexes for more comprehensive and global coverage. For information on other journal databases, see ourUsing Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research for a complete list.
If you already have a citation and would like to read the article, simply type the journal name as atitle search in the library catalog. The results will tell you if we have print, electronic, or both. Be sure to check coverage dates or volume numbers to determine if your particular volume or issue is available. If the library does not have the journal article, you may request the article throughinterlibrary loan and we will ask another library to make a photocopy.
Below are listed a few of the most commonly used resources for locating articles on combating corruption in the foreign and international law context.
- Cambridge University Press Journals (Georgetown only)
This full-text database offers both legal and non-legal journals published by Cambridge University. We suggest using advanced searching.
- Kluwer Law International (Georgetown Law only).
A broad collection of international journals, especially useful for European Union research.
- Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) (Georgetown Law Only)
A multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in approximately 490 legal journals published worldwide. This is the best resource to search for foreign language legal journal articles. Please note this is not a full-text database.
- Oxford University Press (Georgetown only)
This full-text database has both legal and non-legal journals published by Oxford University. You can limit to a particular journal or to the subject law.
- HeinOnline.(Georgetown only)
This legal database contains the full text of legal documents in PDF format, in several collections. The Law Journal Library contains articles from most major law reviews and law journals. Approximately 650 law journals and reviews are included, beginning with the inception date of each publication. For this topic it can be particular helpful to review older law journals for a more wide-ranging view of this topic.
Below is a sampling of some of the journals that focus on corruption law. For back issues, search in the library catalog using the title of the journal. Print versions are often available in the Wolff library.
- Crime, Law and Social Change (formerly Contemporary Crises) available online (Georgetown only)
There is full text access to articles otherwise. This journal covers corruption by issue (e.g. fraud) or by jurisdiction throughout the world.
- Public procurement law review available on Westlaw (Georgetown Law Only)[ PPLR -database] and in print
This journal's sole focus is on government procurement ranging from commentary to select publication of case law from around the world and in the international context (e.g. UNCITRAL Model Law on Procurement).
- Transparency International's quarterly newsletter available online (Georgetown only)
This newsletter though not published rapidly, has news, interviews, reviews of reports and books which focus on anti-corruption issues throughout the world.
In addition, since this legal topic has many interdisciplinary influences, these databases are also important resources for locating further information.
- Academic Search Premier.(Georgetown only)
This is a good all-purpose interdisciplinary database, with some full-text access. For this topic, some of the resources such as conference papers, newsletters and magazines can be particularly useful.
- JSTOR. (Georgetown only) This database includes the full text of the articles from 340 scholarly paper journals, most beginning with the first volume. Coverage excludes articles from the most recent 3 to 5 years PDF format. Searching is available across all bibliographic fields and in the full text.