Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

International and Foreign Animal Law Research Guide

This guide helps researchers locate information on animal law in an international and foreign law context focusing on law that addresses welfare issues of companion animals, farm animals and animals used in research.

Journal Articles

Periodical literature is a good way to obtain background information, locate the text of a foreign law, a citation, or locate information about a subject. Westlaw and Lexis provide excellent coverage of U.S. law reviews, but you should consider expanding your journal research to foreign journals and indexes for more comprehensive and global coverage. For information on other journal databases, see ourUsing Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research for a complete list.

In addition, see our guide on Locating Journal Articles: Foreign & International, as there are foreign and international law journals databases linked to, as another way to research this topic in the foreign and international law context. Since animal welfare is topically interdisciplinary, try ouronline catalog as another option for searching for what materials are available both electronically and in print.

If you already have a citation and would like to read the article, simply type the journal name as atitle search in the library catalog. The results will tell you if we have print, electronic, or both. Be sure to check coverage dates or volume numbers to determine if your particular volume or issue is available. If the library does not have the journal article, you may request the article throughinterlibrary loan and we will ask another library to make a photocopy.

Articles on international/foreign law aspects of animal law can be found published in a number of sources, including many American law journals. You may find relevant articles in journals that do not otherwise focus on international or foreign law topics. For example, the journal Animal Law in print K1 .N4575 and available online includes both articles with an American law focus as well as those with an international/foreign law focus.

Below are listed a few of the most commonly used resources for locating articles on animal welfare in the foreign and international law context.

  • Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals (IFLP) (Georgetown Law Only).
    A multilingual index to articles and book reviews appearing in approximately 490 legal journals published worldwide. Online access from 1985 to the present. Please note while this is not a full text database interlibrary loan can obtain many of the articles if a copy is not available at any of the Georgetown libraries. This is the best resource to search for foreign language legal journal articles.
  • Cambridge University Press Journals (Georgetown only)
    This full-text database offers both legal and non-legal journals published by Cambridge University. We suggest using advanced searching and you can limit by selecting "law" from the subject list. Titles includeCambridge Law JournalJournal of African LawWorld Trade ReviewLegal Theory, and much more.
  • Oxford University Press (Georgetown only)
    Full-text database of both legal and non-legal journals published by Oxford University. You can limit to a particular journal or to the subject law. Journal titles include Chinese Journal of International Law,International Journal of Law and Information TechnologyInternational Journal of Transitional Justice,American Law and Economics Review, and much more. Online access to many of the frequently-cited Oxford journals.