Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

Insurance Law Research Guide

This guide provides a starting point for research in insurance law in the United States.

Contents

Key to Icons

  • Georgetown restricted access
  • On Westlaw
  • On Lexis
  • On Bloomberg
  • PDF Document
  • More Info Available (hover)

News and Current Awareness

Blog-re

A blog about the reinsurance industry, written by Katherine Blackler, an editor at Reinsurance Magazine. Although this blog is based in the U.K., it also covers developments in the U.S., Switzerland, Germany, etc.

BNA Health Insurance Report

"Health Insurance Report provides news on the legal, legislative, and regulatory developments affecting the health insurance industry." Covers both federal and state laws and regulations. Updated weekly.

The Brief: A quarterly magazine published by the ABA's Tort Trial and Insurance Practice Section. Covers new developments in insurance law, as well as "practical, how-to advice on practice and litigation matters."

Insurance Capital

The insurance blog of the Hartford Courant, written by their insurance reporter, Matthew Sturdevant. This blog focuses on the Connecticut insurance industry.

Insurance Coverage Monitor

This blog provides analysis of recent developments in insurance law for corporate policyholders. Written by attorneys at Howrey LLP.

Insurance Law & Litigation Week: This weekly newsletter provides updates on "court decisions, new filings and complaints, jury verdicts, out of court settlements, pending and enacted legislation, and current agency actions." Coverage includes most types of insurance, including health, life, title, commercial, auto, disability, and reinsurance.

LexisNexis Emerging Issues

This database includes articles on recent insurance law cases and legislative developments, written by experts in the field of insurance law. Updated regularly.

LexisNexis Insurance Law Blog

Covers recent court decisions, proposed legislation, compliance issues, and various other insurance-related topics. Written by legal practitioners and LexisNexis editors.

Mealey's Combined Insurance Reports

This collection of databases includes all of Mealey's reports on various types of insurance litigation (class actions, construction defects, disability insurance, bad faith, fraud, reinsurance, etc.). The reports include pending litigation, in addition to recently decided cases.

Point of Law: Insurance Law

Published by the Center for Legal Policy at the Manhattan Institute, this blog covers case law, new legislation, and recent publications on insurance law.

Westlaw Insurance Compliance Alerts: Summaries of recent developments in the law that may affect insurance compliance, such as statutes, regulations, court decisions, or Attorney General opinions.

Westlaw Topical Highlights- Insurance

This database contains "documents prepared by the West editorial staff that summarize recent developments in the law affecting insurance." Includes recent court decisions and "other legal activity of interest."

FindLaw - Insurance Law

  • FindLaw links to insurance law resources including web guides, news, cases, and law firm articles.

Insurance Information Institute

  • This site provides a multitude of insurance and risk management resources.

National Association of Insurance Commissioners

  • Provides a Consumer Information Center for filing and researching complaints against insurance companies, as well as Congressional testimony on insurance issues back to the 105th Congress.

National Conference of Insurance Legislators

  • This organization is "dedicated to promoting sound insurance public policy" and includes Model Acts and resolutions organized by topic.