Georgetown Law
Georgetown Law Library

French Legal Research Guide

This in-depth guide will help researchers navigate French legal materials.

Periodical Literature

Want to find out if you can get electronic access to a journal article through the library? Check the E-Journal Finder. From the research page, it's listed under Frequently Used Databases on the right hand side of the page. The E-Journal Finder even tells you if a journal is available on Lexis and Westlaw. To use the E-Journal Finder, type in the name of the journal, and see what sources will give you full-text electronic access. If we don't have the journal electronically, check the library catalogfor a print version or request the article through interlibrary loan.

Indexes & Periodicals Databases

Periodical literature is a good way to obtain background information, locate the text of a law, a citation, or locate information about a subject. To obtain the best results, use periodical indexes to locate relevant citations.

Below are listed a few of the most commonly used journal indexes. See our journal indexes pagefor a complete list. If you are new to using indexes to find articles, have a look at these two guides:Locating Journal Articles: Foreign & International and Using Articles for Legal and Non-Legal Research.

Full text of articles are available in the databases listed below.

Selected French-Language Periodicals

Current editions of these journals are located at the Wolff circulation desk. Older editions are on the 4th floor of the Wolff Library.

  • Revue française de droit constitutionnel INTL K21 .F73
    Constitutional law periodical. Library has from 1990 to present.
  • Les cahiers du Conseil constitutionnel INTL K3 .A145
    Comparative constitutional law periodical with analysis of decisions from the constitutional counsel. Library has from 1997 to present.
  • Revue trimestrielle de droit civil INTL K21 .T75
    Civil law periodical. Library has from 1902 to present.